Removing the mould …

For the longest time, all I saw in this photo was those 4 gorgeous little people.  Focus on them – aren’t they cute 🙂  However, change the perspective and that photo changes completely.  I know that you can see a lot more than the kids.  You can see that gross disgusting mouldy wall behind them.  I also know this means you’re now going to have a second look.  Yuk – and I’m squirming!

Last week, I saw a TEDtalk by Dan Phillips.  He is a designer/builder who makes homes from recycled materials.  In his talk, I heard him challenge the notion of perfection.  He uses imperfect items to create wonderfully artistic, quirky and challenging pieces.  From that talk, I decided that we didn’t need to wait until we could do a full bathroom renovation, we could and should make do with what we already have on hand and get it sorted.  After all, if we don’t like it, or it doesn’t do the job, we can still fix it!

This led to project “colour my bathroom”.  The only paint we had were crazy bright colours, and small sample pots of each.  However, I was not going to be deterred.  The bathroom needed fresh paint, we had paint, and we should use it.

As Dean and I were scraping and scrubbing away that revolting surface, it struck me that this was pretty symbolic for me.  Are you like me?  Do you sometimes avoid the mould in the background and focus only on what you want?  Focussing on what you want, or the positive aspects of life is a philosophy that is suggested to us by many teachers and philosophers.  However, despite the focus, the mould is still there.

So, time for me to get down and dirty and clear out some mould.  For me this means that I don’t need to wait until I have all of the answers, and all of the plans ready to implement.  It is more important that I tackle the “muck” with what I have available, and if later on I don’t like it, I can do it again.

Here’s to not just ignoring the festy bits, making do with what I have and what I know, and the freedom of believing that imperfect is completely A-OK!!

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Removing the mould …

  1. Love the new wall Kathryn and have found your blog an interesting read so far-so keep up the good work!
    Kathie

    • kathrynhodges says:

      Thanks Kathie!
      Although it is a bit of a purge for me, I sincerely hope it helps to shine the light on the demon of perfection (which inevitably holds us all back) and allows us to focus on our best futures!
      Cheers
      K

  2. Dean Hodges says:

    Always a good read Kathryn. You are getting good at this.

  3. jodie says:

    just luv it! n funky cool too what a great place for the kids to relax in the tub…

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

