Sweet As Bro – The Bites

These last few days have been full of amazing activities, new experiences, different sights sounds and tastes.  Last night though, reality took a deep bite into our holiday wonderworld.

I believe that life in it’s ordinary imperfection is the real deal.  And it’s dangerous to pretend that it should be any other way.

Last night was a whole lot less than awesome.  It ended in an evening of silence as Dean watched footy and I read in bed.  Which could be fine on another night, but really wasn’t last night.  Reality was biting, and biting hard.

Thank goodness though we were given the gift of a fresh start.  This morning, we talked about the night before and the reality bite.  When we brought the bite mark out into the morning light and took a second look, it wasn’t that bad.  In fact, it wasn’t much at all.  We could easily get back into the holiday swing of things.

After a bite of delicious breakfast we headed out for our last day in New Zealand.  Today, we decided to have a crack at checking out a winery.  Sticking with our choices so far, this was another first.

Here is the view that greeted us at Villa Maria Winery of Auckland.  It is tucked away in another crater from a volcano, and has the same lush appearance that we’ve seen in other volcanic areas.  It’s just around the corner from the Airport, not that you would know that when you’re there.  I would highly recommend that if you touch down at Auckland airport, and want an opportunity to breath some fresh air, stretch your legs and taste some delights, give it a whirl.

The first thing we did was have a wine tasting.  Mmmm that was lovely.  We even bought a bottle of Verdelho to take home.  Oooh aren’t we posh?  No?  I didn’t think so, either 🙂   It was amazing what we could smell and taste when the guide was able to let us know what to expect.  And when they say you’ll be able to smell passionfruit or peaches or whatever, you really can!

Tasting 6 wines in rapid succession was delicious and definitely went straight to our heads.  We decided to walk it off on their walking track before coming back to the restaurant for a bite to eat.  I’m so glad we did.

We sauntered around the beautiful quiet grounds doing nothing more than holding hands and chatting.  No one to watch out for.  No booking to meet.  The trees were singing their always beautiful songs and we marvelled at the symmetry and hands on care given to the vines.

When we arrived back at the winery restaurant we enjoyed sitting beside a group of people there to celebrate a birthday.  There were a few empty bottles at their table and their laughter and joy was infectious.  Somewhere in there we ordered our lunch.   Oh my.  If I was a food blogger, I would have LOTS to say, and some divine pictures.  Instead, I’m a food eater, and this is what I have to share.

Mmmm those bites were delicious.  We followed our salmon chowder and pork belly starters with a divine apple tarte tatin.  I’m drooling just thinking about it.

After savouring those moments it was time.  Time to return our car.  To head back to our hotel and begin to prepare for home.

On the way back, we saw Wakefield Street.  Yay!!! Wakefield is my maiden name.  I loved seeing that reminder of home.

From that time on, reality was biting.  It started raining, so no more casual strolling through Auckland.  Then our credit card was declined.  Woops!  I forgot about direct debits due this week.  And we booked our shuttle back to the airport.  For 3.30AM IN THE MORNING!  Yes you read that correctly.

And in the best reality bite of all, tomorrow we get to go home.  To our little house with it’s partially completed bathroom reno (I cannot wait to see that).  We’ll get to collect our puppy dogs and pat them and rough them up like mad.  And of course, and most importantly, we’ll be able to hug our children and remind them that while we’ve had a great time away they really are what matters most to us.

And then someone will do something and we’ll be settling fights and reality will bite us again.  Just the way it should be.

K xxx

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweet As Bro – The Bites

  1. Debyl1 says:

    Im so glad when reality did bite you never let it leave a scar on your lovely holiday.
    Have a relaxing and safe trip home.xx

  2. Pingback: Between the Years : Not 2012 Not 2013 « Alphabet Rainbows

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

