Feeling Lost as the View Changes

I was feeling frankly a bit cranky about this post and was ready to spit out a few words about changing views and feeling lost.  Then, I had a quick check of Facebook, and saw this:

Goosebumps!  Maybe I am just precisely where I need to be, changing my view.

Changing Views – My Hair

Earlier this year, I made a decision to stop colouring my hair, and to let my grey real hair be seen.  I started slowly by just growing my coloured hair out.  At first it was a bit of a novelty.  Then a few weeks ago, after the life rattling jolt of my Mum having a stroke, I needed to take a few bold steps to connect with my living.  One was to go for short hair cut.

I love my new short do and it has become a reminder of my need to watch my view.

For me, whenever I look in the mirror ALL I can see is grey.  Every morning as I get ready, every time I wash my hands in the bathroom and glance into the mirror,  every time I catch my reflection, all I see is grey hair.  Then, I see myself in photos and wonder where is the grey hair.

Time to change my view.  Rather than looking only at the grey, I need to see the brown as well, so that I see things as they really are, not the distorted version I am looking for.

Changing Views – Overseas Travel

For the longest time, I have felt almost embarrassed that I have never left Australia.  Then just last week, I finally got to leave Australia.  Dean and I enjoyed a wonderful amazing time together in New Zealand.

There was part of me waiting for the big epiphany that would magically arrive after I left Australia.  “You’ll never have the same view again” I had people say to me.  And yes, it was an amazing opportunity and a spectacular break from the everyday, and yet it also was the everyday.

There were still teeth to be brushed, showers to be had, meals to be procured, and people going about their everyday.

Time to change my view.  Rather than waiting until somewhere else could be my inspiration, perhaps the moments to inspire are all around in the everyday.

Changing Views – Bathrooms

If our home was up for sale, I’m sure there would be a bit of “renovator’s delight” flavour to any descriptions.  When we bought it, over 5 years ago now, we had plans.  To renovate the bathroom, the kitchen, the garage / rumpus, and to do up the front and the back yards.  So far, we’ve done, erm, not so much.

In the last month, we were finally in a position to be able to get our bathroom renovated.  The transformation has been AMAZING!!  Our terrible falling apart bathroom was pulled apart even further to reveal it’s bare floor and walls before the beauty of our new bathroom was created.

I love it.  It’s shiny and beautiful and laid out to make the most of the space.  And although completely different, nothing changes.

Time to change my view.  Beautiful things are beautiful.  They do no more than the old and the dirty, just different.

 

I don’t really know where all that leads me, but I know for sure that right now I feel rattled, unsettled and lost.  My view is changing.  I’m doing my best to lean into it, and see where my new view might take me.

May we all share our discomforts, to remind ourselves that we are lost together.  Just as we should be.

K xxx

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Feeling Lost as the View Changes

  1. Vanessa says:

    I remember feeling like that very well, in fact I can feel it now after reading your post. It gets better, change and growth are uncomfortable. Sharing it us so importanr. Have hope dear Sista, enjoy the journey abd take pleasure looking back, it helps in the appreciation if how far you have come. I do and i revel in it! Xoxoxi

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Thanks Vanessa,
      I really needed to hear that, my dear soul Sista.
      I had started to fear that perhaps I was losing my way. Maybe in fact I am adjusting to being another few steps along my path.
      Thanks xxx
      K xxx

  2. Vicky says:

    Remember what a caterpillar does to become a butterfly? 😉 x

  3. Debyl1 says:

    So much change is going on around me with mum not the mum she used to be,only a short time ago.Now my hubby has to go for heart stress test after chest pain recently.Also my teen daughter is going through her changes which is having its hard effect on us all.
    Yet I feel like I am standing still… waiting.For what I do not know.Like you say..lost.
    The one light is as you so beautifully remind me… we can all share it together.
    Thankyou for reminding me..I may be lost but I am not alone.

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Oh Debbie,

      Although different I can so very much relate.

      Waiting, in the dark, feeling lost.

      Shine on, dear Debbie. I will, if you will.
      K xxx

  4. Pingback: Between the Years : Not 2012 Not 2013 « Alphabet Rainbows

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

