Double Batch Sunday with the strength of Salsa.

I’ve written a couple of times about my love of baking.  I don’t bake anything fancy or complicated or beautiful.  And I still love it, and my family politely eat it..

Today, as I was musing about what I would bake to attempt to fill the 30 lunchboxes that need filling this week, I suddenly realised.  I have my big new, non-burning-everything oven.  My oven was now large enough, with even heat so I could use ALL the trays.  And Double Batch Sunday was born.

A double of batch of Anzacs.  That should, maybe, get us until Friday.

And a double batch of ginger biscuits.  I thought about being super awesome and icing them with smiley faces, but by then I was hot and was already worried about how much sugar was in our diet, after fresh scones with jam and cream had been our take it easy morning tea.  So, the kids get ginger biscuits, without icing.  My sister, Bronwyn, will be impressed that each biscuit is precisely the same size!  (She weighs her rum balls so that they are all the same).

I was so impressed with myself, I even organised meals for the first couple of nights of the week.  Which we’ll need because I have Court to start my week, which means early starts and late finishes.

Because I’m trying to get a handle on what I’m eating, I thought I’d have a go at the protein balls that I saw on the Ironchicks website.  Here are mine, made of nutty proteiny chocolatey goodness, in front of the flowers Dean gave me the other day, right after I snapped about something stupid.  Foot in mouth, anyone?

Ironchicks is an awesome blog been started by the wife of a colleague.  I’d love if you could check it out.  This woman is amazing.  She is married, has 2 young kids, works, and is an elite level athlete.  She just completed the Hawaii Ironman in only 3 minutes over 11 hours.  Yes – you read that right!  And she chats and smiles all the way.  An amazing IronChick 🙂

Despite the typical heated verbal stouches with Mr13 that littered today, I was still feeling great.  Once the baking was finished, the kitchen restored to low level chaos, Tyben, Coby and I went for a walk with Howie.  It was a great way to end a hot hot day.  Walking as the cool of night started to come in.  As we walked, we shared the most amazing view together.  An absolutely gorgeous red sun, setting between the green of the trees as we looked down the peaceful hill of a gravel road.  Unfortunately I didn’t have my phone on me, so instead of a picture of amazing, you get to see this drawing I did instead.  I’m sure you can add the light and shade needed!!

I was, for a Sunday, surprisingly excited about organising dinner.  I even thought I’d put together a starter.  Well, not so much a starter as corn chips and a dip.  Well not so much a dip, as cream cheese with salsa on top and a few chopped spring onions.  It was going to be awesome!  As I opened the lid on the salsa jar, suddenly it was flying through the air, in slow motion, before landing ….. on the edge of Irene, my iPad.

Waaaaahhhhhh!!!

I thought I’d see if wine would help.

Nope.  Still broken.  😦

The Offender.

So, the lesson from today was, sometimes, a loving fancy pants starter can cost a whole lot more than bargained for.

Life has amazing moments, if you look for them 🙂

The end of Double Batch Sunday.

K xxx

kkk

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Double Batch Sunday with the strength of Salsa.

  1. I hope you loved the Protein balls. We have some more recipes coming soon xxx cath

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Thanks Cath!
      They were great. They even got a “they’re ok” from Dean. 🙂
      Will be on regular rotation at our place.
      Keep inspiring, Cath!!
      K xxx

  2. Jenni Parry says:

    Breaking my precious (iPad) would definately mean NO Alcohol for October would come to an abrupt end. And my Wheat Free diet would be out the window as i went for comforting consoling food to sooth my distress.
    I keep meaning to give some chocolate protein balls a whirl for a healthy lunch box treat for me.

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      I know Jenni,
      I miss my Irene already. I hope that with some loving care she can be back with me soon!!
      And try those protein balls. They’re great 🙂
      K xx

  3. I’m off to visit Iron Chicks but I wanted to say I love those protein balls. I tried cooking from my iPad but I find it heaps easier to print the recipe and then slob all over it and then toss it away.

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Hi Maureen,
      I hope you enjoyed the IronChicks site!! It’s an amazing community for some very motivated chicks 🙂
      And yes. Maybe cooking from paper recipes is much safer. For Irene anyway!!
      K xxx

  4. Vanessa moore says:

    Shit happens…..and compared to the wonderful and fulfilling day you had….it’s only an iPad hey! Love the pic of the sunset too mate xoxoxoxoxoox

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Yeah. It will be more than ok. Of course!
      And I’m glad that someone sees my artistic efforts 😉
      You see why I play with words. Not pictures or colours.
      K xxx

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

