I Heart My Body. Broken Bits. Yoga. Same and Different.

In the small hours of Thursday, I was sitting in the Emergency Department of our local hospital.  Now I know that the Fast Track area was named by someone with a pretty wacky sense of humour.  While I was waiting, I heard multiple times over the loud speaker “Cat 2” and a directed and unpanicked response to newcomers to the Emergency Department who needed help straight away.  I’m glad that we have skilled professionals who can help, calmly and with focus.  I felt particularly sad for the 92 year old man who came in with chest pains, and was whisked away into the hospital.  I hope he’s OK.

I was amusing myself on twitter, trying to while away the hours in my Fast Track chair.  This freak of fate meant that I was awake and reading when We Heart Life launched their annual I Heart my Body campaign.  I remember looking at the posts that women bravely shared last year, and thinking “I wish I could do that”.  But I’m too fat, I have a job which means I can’t, and on and on went my mind.

In this amazing initiative people post photos of their bodies, and declare 3 things they love about their body.  Some are in their underwear, some are in less, some are in more.  Most importantly they share their reality, and what they love about their bodies.

And this year, even though I am a couple of days late, I’m in.  Because, despite all my insecurities and worries and wobbles and everything else, I really do heart my body.  Those early morning hours at the emergency department proved it.

This picture is precisely why I heart my body.

Reason #1.  My body is strong, resilient and has put up with a thousand mistakes.

This injury to my foot is the first thing that has put me in an ambulance.  It is the first thing that has put me into an emergency department, and the first thing that has had me in a hospital waiting to see a doctor (other than having babies).

Despite all the silly things I’ve done in my 38 years, the times I’ve misjudged, been downright stupid and uncaring to my body, it has very rarely yelled NO WAY at me.

That night, I was attempting to sneak out of bed, at 2am, to go to the toilet.  Yep, all of this over a badly timed wee.  As usual, Sabrina was asleep beside me in bed, and I was trying to climb out of the bed, over Sabrina so I didn’t wake her.  Somehow, I misjudged something, and instead of lighting greeting the floor and then creeping quietly around the bed, I smashed down onto the floor.  I swear, no frisky business involved as my sister bravely asked me.  As she said so well, you’re all saved from that gag and giggle moment 🙂

The last time my body said “no way” and broke rather than bent was a long time ago.

This long ago.

My body allowed me to fall pregnant 4 times, work through 4 straightforward pregnancies and birth 4 healthy babies.  I truly Heart my Body for that.  Strong.  Resilient.  Forgiving.

Reason #2  My body was made for yoga

I know that isn’t really true.  But I love that I feel that way.  When I’m in a yoga class, I have wonderful little thoughts that go along the lines of “I’m really built for this”.  They’re pretty quickly followed by “but look at her or him.  You’ll never do that”.  But at least they show up, and I love the feeling from those thoughts.

Did you have a sport you played as a kid, where you thought that maybe just maybe you could be the winner of the world.  When I was 10, I was playing tennis (like a ham) and having dreams that maybe one day I could win Wimbledon.  Yoga, is the grown up version of that, for me.

I don’t really think that I’ll ever be “great” at yoga (whatever that means), but I love that yoga gives me those fleeting moments.

It means that I have moments when I love my body, I love looking at my body and seeing it’s strength and flexibility.

Reason #3 My Body has changed immensely and not a lot

Sometimes it’s easy to notice only the changes.  The wobbly belly, and award winning tuckshop arms, the dark spot on my forehead (thanks Sabrina – that was an unexpected pregnancy gift), the wrinkles and the greying hair.

But in reality, my body has been pretty similar for much of my adult life.

Here I am, in 2011, after throwing on my formal dress from 20 years before.

I heart my body for that.

Are you brave enough?  Do you heart your body??  Wanna share??

<http://weheartlife.com/2012/10/ihmb-2012/

Check it out.  I promise it’ll make you smile.

K xxx

ps.  My foot now looks like this.

 

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to I Heart My Body. Broken Bits. Yoga. Same and Different.

  1. Vanessa moore says:

    Wow! What a foot! Had that a few times, the worst when my hubby and I were walking home from the pub very drunk and he pushed me. Klutz that I am I fell,off the pavement onto the grass and then rolled forward! The result was similar to yours and then thongs and runners for almost 2 years!

    A great question and yes your posts are always food for thought, and yes, again I had to learn to heart mine about 10 years ago. After multiple injuries and a car accident in 1993 my body started to fail.

    I now Invest time and money to keep it working and thankfully I have some wonderful practitioners that support me in this.

    My weight was really the only thing that slightly bugged me. At the start of this year I decided that I WANTED to be 65kg, I was about 71/72.

    I had bad eating habits. I would be on the go all day not eating then start about 5pm and eat through dinner to about 8.30. I have been known to eat in bed too, still hungry.

    Surprisingly, after I looked at myself and made the weight decision it started to come off. 69, 68,67,66….over 4 months then I thought ” if I haven’t changed anything to make this happen then why am I losing weight?” I went to a Naturopath and had my blood viewed. Folate and b12 deficient, no big deal, however a slight liver struggle as I don’t eat regularly. So, mild changes in place now and I FEEL great. Hit 64 this week, though I can attribute that to Tilly being in hospital overnight and the thought that I may lose her. 65 is a good number for me.

    I love that you feel the way you do about yoga? Wish I could do it. No sport for me, just massage and chiropractor. However I love to dance so boogie a bit when driving (learnt not to care what other people think when they see me) and sometimes after a few Friday night drinks, grab my iPod and boogie in the backyard.

    Thanks for the reminder. You have an amazing gift for sharing and I value your posts so much. You posted on FB this morning about having a sister. I don’t have one however I have a soul sister in you and for that I am truly grateful.

    Much love to you xoxox

    Ps…a tip, get off the crutches as soon as you can. Start exercising it. Happy to share mine with you

    Pps……coffee cold again LOL

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Hi Vanessa,
      sorry about the cold coffee!!
      65 – that is my favourite number. It’s been a while and I’m looking forward to seeing it again. quite comfy there, myself.
      Boogie on!!!
      K xxx

  2. I do hope you’re feeling better soon, and what a great reason to love your body:)

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Thanks Sharon,
      I’m so blessed and I’m very sure that my foot will be back supporting me very very soon.
      Thanks for popping by,
      K xx

  3. Vanessa moore says:

    Cold coffee is ok……..

  4. Debyl1 says:

    I am not too happy with my body at the moment as I have a compressed nerve in my neck due to degeneration…maybe from many years of geriatric nursing.
    I have been in so much pain for weeks now and can not go on my much loved computer for very long.It makes me sad as I miss my special twitter friends like you.
    I love how you are always so positive.I never leave here without feeling inspired or having something new to think about.Thank you.
    Hope your foot heals well for you and soon.Much love.xx

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Hi Deb,
      Oh, how I’ve missed seeing your beautiful sprinkles of love and encouragement over the twitterverse. x Hope you’re better soon, too.
      Thanks so much for your beautiful words.
      K xxx

  5. Pingback: My Big Arse & Other Oddly Endearing Bits – I Heart my Body 2012 | Caveat Calcei

  6. shoesandyoga says:

    The feet, the hands – both I use to see how people hold tension and pain in their bodies.

    Yoga will help you ground through each of the four corners of your feet again.

    And can I say, but for you and a couple of wee goldies I would not have posted my post.

    Arrrgh 😉

  7. WOW. Your foot. I do that often, I have terrible ankles.

    I am glad that you were able to see it all go live. I was in tears most of that morning as I was reading through the posts.

    Thank you so much for linking up xx Your body is amazing!

  8. OMG your foot! The photo of you in the dress is seriously fantastic!!!

  9. rodneybukuya says:

    Damnyou My Facebook friend,

    I’ve been trying to ignore this post since you posted it. For one simple reason. Loving my body is my most significant battle. I’ve dealt with all my issues but for some reason, I’m really struggling with the idea that I can love my body. In its current form.

    Oh, I have some great memories of amazing feats my body has performed and humorous stories of girls who flirted with me and my body when it’s at it’s peak but in the last couple of years. It not only doesn’t look like me, it doesn’t feel like me and it sure as shit doesn’t perform like me.

    It is a sad bloated image of its former self. I saw the I heart my body campaign last year and all I could feel was envy at those who could share such love for their body as you have.

    Thank You Kathryn. I think it may be time to expose myself. I cannot believe the level of fear that had suddenly surfaced for me.

    Thanks Again Kathryn

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Thanks Rodney,
      Funny enough I’ve spent a lot of time over the last year whinging about my weight blah blah blah.
      Then when I hurt my foot, and had a reality check. I realized I truly did love my body.
      And I do not tackle body issues easily. Some of my toughest stuff is wrapped up in food and body shape!
      Keep looking Rod. You’ll find the answers.
      K xxx

  10. Hi Kathryn, saying hi from our Facebook NaNo group.

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Thanks Karen!!!
      And hello. Welcome to my little
      Blog.
      Are you ready?? NaNoWriMo ready!?!
      K x

      • I don’t know. I had no intention of actually doing it until I saw what a great group Kelly was building. I have an idea, so I’m just going to see where it takes me. Are you ready?! 😉

  11. Pingback: Between the Years : Not 2012 Not 2013 « Alphabet Rainbows

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

