The Doing of Nothingness in Pursuit of Everything

I’m struggling to unravel my thoughts enough to be able to share even one of them.  This week has been an interesting full week.  A productive week with a limp.  A week that involved flat shoes, sweets, a big decision, lots of words, glaring failures and wonderful successes and amazing nothingness.  You know, life!

My nothingness began on Thursday night.  On a whim, I decided to get my haircut because I could feel the waves starting again, and I was loving my short do.  I went to a new salon.  I fluctuate between practical money and time saving salons, and indulgent salons where time and people move slowly.  This time, I chose to be indulgent.

I went to Toni and Guy at Cotton Tree after chatting with the owner, Leah, at prep orientation for Sabrina earlier in the day.  Leah is one of those people who has an amazing artistic presence and spectacular hair (of course, but not what you would think).  Click through to their link and check out Leah’s hair.  It’s amazing!  And so I sat and did nothing while the gorgeous Tegan did what she could with my almost ridiculously short hair.

And we finished with a MOMENT.  Tegan, dressed like a goddess, giving all of her creative attention to trimming a fringe.  A wonderful reward for a very patient 4 year old.

Then Friday, I prioritised the doing of nothingness with my sisters.  We spent a whole day together, no agenda, no activities, no husbands, no children and no parents.  Just the everything of nothingness.  Our day consisted of a lot of talking.

Some serious, some hysterical, some tearful, some awkward and uncomfortable, and everything important.

There was lots of eating followed by lots of empty plates and cups.

There may have been a conversation that involved the words “your boobs” “that shirt” and something about “eyes” followed up by a FB joke about botox.

Some shopping!!  Can you guess who bought what?  Think one family girl, one corporate girl, one single girl.

A great day.  And huge gratitude to my team at work who kept things moving along, not one phone call, text or email to distract me from my walking, talking, shopping, eating and drinking.  Awesome!

And so ends the Doing of Nothingness.  Now the Pursuit of Everything.

On Tuesday, I saw on twitter some amazing people getting ready to do NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month 2012.  The marathon of writing!  A challenge to write a novel in a month.  50,000 words over 30 days.  Last year 268,618 participants from all around the globe stood at the metaphorical starting line.  Amazing, hey!!

Imagine being able to write a novel at all, let alone in a month.  I’ve had a book idea for the last 2 years, and I have just over 5,500 words written down.  All written about 2 years ago.  Then I stopped.  Because “it’s already been done”, “who am I to write a book”, “I can’t do this until our lives are perfect”.  Grrrgghh.  Thank you mind!

Anyway, I thought as I watched the tweets, wouldn’t that be cool.  To join a community of writers, and go at it, for 30 days.  Then I checked out the NaNoWriMo website, and being the compliance comfortable person I am, I went straight to the FAQs and the HowNaNoWriMo works sections.  I was starting to get a bit excited about possibly signing up, then I realised I couldn’t.  It was fiction, and I don’t write fiction.

I write (and read) non-fiction.

So I moved on.  Then within an hour, I was back, signing in.

For a month long marathon of madness.

At lunchtime Tuesday 30th October I decided that I was starting a novel on Thursday 1st November, a novel that would be finished by Friday 30th November.  It was so exciting.  Except I had no characters, no plotline, no idea, and no experience of writing fiction.

Well, I’m 3 days in, and I’m on track.  I have 6066 words, 6 characters that I’m getting know, and I have only the vaguest idea where it’s going.  I’ll let you know at the end of November how I got on.  Whether I completed the marathon and ran through the finish line with my arms in the air, whether I pulled out early to save myself the pain of failure, or simply gave it my all and collapsed.  Time and discipline will tell the tale.

That was my big decision.  Have you made any big decisions this week?

Scared??  Keep going.  There is an amazing piece of wisdom on the NaNoWriMo site.  “Just keep writing”.  I think it applies to life.

Does it feel too big and too scary?  “Just keep going”.  It may just be the most awesome thing you’ve ever done.

K xxx

For those who’ve been following the journey of the limping.  My foot now looks like this.  Such pretty colours 🙂

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Doing of Nothingness in Pursuit of Everything

  1. Vanessa moore says:

    I made the hugest decision of my life this week…..to send my gorgeous girl to Rainbow Bridge. She is ready to go and after her hospital visit last week and seeing her in pain I am ready too. We are planned for 4pm today. I had to wait you see, as Thursday was our 3rd wedding anniversary and,as you know, yesterday was my birthday. So now we add the 3rd November to our special days of the year as the day we send our gorgeous girl to a peaceful place.

    Scary is an understatement however, as a coach, I have used my never ending need to be organised to ensure I have planned everything to go smoothly, right down to not having to organise paperwork or money for anyone. Just send her off peacefully while she is in my arms.

    You really get it Kathryn, your birthday post to me last night absolutely spelt out our relationship. THANKYOU for writing this post, as always.

    Scary is good, it means another phase of growth and a new start to something. So we will now have to focus on making sure Tully copes and I know that my beautiful girl will be with me in spirit for the rest of my life. I sometimes wonder where the courage comes from.

    Love to you xoxoxo xoxoxo
    Ps Facebook post will happen afterwards, Rhiannon is posting for me, you may have seen her post Tilly’s picture this morning

  2. Debyl1 says:

    Kathryn I just love how you never let fear stop you.
    What a wonderful example you set for your children.
    The more lovely oldies I talk to in the nursing home where mum is the more I hear “I wish I had done this.”….”I wish I had done that.”…”If only.”
    It makes me so sad for them as they tell me their life stories with sadness in their eyes because of opportunities lost.
    You brave lady are such an inspiration because you break through that wall of fear that stops many of us from reaching our dreams and goals.
    You will write your novel and just as you leaned out off that building in NZ,you will get that amazing feeling of ….yes I did it.
    It will be another achievement for you and your loved ones to be so so proud of.
    Much love.xx

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Thanks Debbie,
      You completely understand me!
      My decision to join in the challenge is not about writing a novel, or publishing a book, it is about doing something that I have longed to do for a very long time.
      Anything else, is a bonus.
      K xxx

  3. E. says:

    I did NaNoWriMo last year. Well done for signing up. It does seem scary but its doable. Good luck.

  4. Pingback: The Most Important Day Ever « Alphabet Rainbows

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

