Kind Monday : Using my Ending to help a Beginning

My baby girl (who really isn’t a baby anymore) is right at the corner of milestone turning point in her young life. She is starting prep at school next week.
This has lead to beginnings and endings for her (and for me).
Tomorrow is her very last day at day care. Which also makes tomorrow my very last day that I drop off a child to or collect a child from our day care centre. The same centre that we have entrusted with our children for 13 years now.
This morning I had a thought. An idea for my Random Act of Kindness. What about if I share some thoughts, from the ending of my era of child care, for those whom I will never know, facing their beginnings.
What if I could leave a letter, for the Mums and Dads to come, that lets them know it’s ok. It’s ok to have your children spend time in child care. It’s ok to be upset about it. My children have attended from very young, and all love us, have no confusion about who are their parents, and were safe and loved in their time at child care.
This morning, as I was dropping Sabrina off at the crack of dawn quite early, I threw my idea to the new owner of the centre, and asked if she could pay it forward for me. To please share my letter with parents who look like they’re feeling wobbly.
She thanked me for the idea and said that she would make sure that they share my letter.
I just hope I don’t cry too much while I reflect on my feelings as I remember handing my babies over, feeling confused and nervous. And knowing how well loved and cared for they were. Even though they weren’t with me.

Then this afternoon I dropped over to see my Mum and my Dad. I was thrilled and had a real grin as my Dad was telling me about a couple of Kind moments he had experienced. Earlier this morning he had taken my niece, his granddaughter, Presley, out to the shops. On 2 separate occasions he had strangers get their children on the little rides at the shop, and say “Would your granddaughter like to hop in and use the spare seat”.
How awesome is that!

What a lovely thing to do. To put your children into a ride, and before inserting your coin, offer the spare seat in a ride to a child you’ve never met before.
Isn’t life wonderful?

Where have you seen something wonderful in life lately?
K xxx

20130121-220801.jpg

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kind Monday : Using my Ending to help a Beginning

  1. Vanessa moore says:

    Missed this one…..wonderful in life lately, me. I have changed so much and I can really feel it. All the mind work is really paying off and not money, just the outcomes in my coaching and when I meet people.

    I have also been looking for random acts, chickened out at the shop the other day. I will keep trying

    Xoxoxoxoxo

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

