Kind Monday. Giving what You Have.

I have been musing about stretching the idea of Kindness and looking for opportunities beyond laying down some cash.

I have, and I will, use money as a medium for Random Acts of Kindness during this year long challenge.

images[1]

However, surely kindness can and does go beyond money.

And that’s where it can really get fun. Just thinking about what kindness could look like without money is pretty cool.

This week I chose my act of Kindness to come from that which I have to give.

My Words.

I have some friends who may potentially be about to enter into a figurative sandstorm.  I wanted to give them some encouragement, an anchor and some hope for the future, whether or not the cyclone arrives.

This weekend, I wrote about the recent storms in our region and the exposure that it brought to our beaches and how this was like the storms of life.

After I had publish it , I opened an email, and wrote just this “I wrote this for you”, attached the link and hit send.

Kindness can sometimes be as easy as giving that which you have to give.

Try it!

K xxx

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kind Monday. Giving what You Have.

  1. Michaela C says:

    As usual, loving all over this xxx

  2. Vanessa moore says:

    And that is what it is all about. Giving. Good stuff, you have to me with your blog this weekend.

    Well done oxoxoxoxoxo

  3. Hi Kathryn,

    That sounds like a great writing exercise and idea. You didn’t tell us what the response was? It’s interesting to think about what helps people most – physical help (money, food etc) or emotional support. I guess we need both those things and they don’t need to come from the same person so everything we do give adds up.

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Thanks Annabel,
      I got a reply saying that they had just had a good day and that my words were lovely.
      So maybe it helped. Maybe it didn’t. And isn’t that how it is with giving?
      Give without expectation.
      K x

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

