Kind Monday. We Can Change The World.

This Kind Monday story is totally and completely one of my favourites so far.

Last week, I popped over to the bank to do my weekly business banking.  When I was finished I dropped into one of my favourite places to grab a bite to eat, CafeEnvy.  If you’re a Sunshine Coastie and you haven’t yet checked them out, please do!  They’re at Cotton Tree and Mooloolaba.

Healthy whole food. Funky Vibe. Awesome energy.  A great place to go for a chat with friends, or some quiet time on your own.

Anyway, as I stood waiting to order my treats, I heard the lady in front me say “don’t worry about the cake, it’s not worth breaking a hundred just for cake”, and she went on to buy just a coffee with her change.

When I walked up to the counter I said to the quiet young fellow ready to take my order, “Do you remember what cake the lady had ordered?”.  He told me what it was.  When I said “Can you put that on my bill, please” I did not expect what happened next.

He leaned back a little, smiled an enormous smile and said “We can change the world!”  I beamed back at him and we chatted about the ways we can influence our world and that small acts can have a big impact.

Nicholas, that’s the guy’s name, the one who GOT IT, the instant I said to put a stranger’s cake on my bill, kindly agreed to appear here, on my blog, as part of this story.

002

So, I present to you Nicholas.  Nicholas with a warm heart, a beaming smile, and a hope for a better world.

Thanks Nicholas.  I may have bought a piece of cake for a stranger, but it was YOU who made my day!

If you see a chance to help a stranger, step up and give it a go.  I promise you’ll find there are some amazing people in this world!

K xxx

 

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Kind Monday. We Can Change The World.

  1. Debyl1 says:

    I love your Kind Monday posts.
    They remind me of the saying by Abraham Lincoln…..

    When I do good,I feel good.
    When I do bad,I feel bad.
    That is my religion.

    It is wonderful that as you made a stranger feel good by giving cake,you made warm hearted Nicholas feel good by your kindness and then that made you feel good.
    Three more people feeling good from kindness given and received.
    Beautiful hearted people like the two of you WILL change the world.Xx

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Oh Debbie. What a beautiful insight into a goodness dance we shared!
      And yes, people like you, like Nicholas (and hopefully like me) can change the world.
      Thank you for your beautiful drops of encouragement you continue to share all over the internet. I see it. I notice. You make me smile.
      K x

  2. Maureen says:

    What an uplifting post and if we all looked for just one opportunity every day to lift someone else up, imagine how the world would look.

  3. Brad says:

    Hi Kathryn, I nominated you for the Beautiful Blogger and Inspiring Awards, please collect them here: http://wp.me/p1SUOv-8s. Congratulations!

  4. Shelley says:

    I love it! Very inspirational. Did you see the reaction of the lady who received the cake and did you stay anonymous? That would have been priceless! I have always believed in smiling and showing kindness to the world, you never know who will need it, so why not give it to everyone! It gives me hope that there are kind hearted and generous people out there trying to make a difference, even if its the littlest of gestures, it all counts. Lovely blog, you’ve made my morning.

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Thanks Shelley,
      And yes, I stayed anonymous (courtesy of Nicholas). I saw, from behind, the lady enjoying her cake, but we never made eye contact.
      It was a lovely moment.
      I’m glad I could make your morning!
      K x

  5. Vanessa moore says:

    Wow, that is awesome, what a great guy. I bet that felt amazing to have him “get” what you were doing. Xxoxo

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

