Kind Monday. Acting on Impulse.

In my office, I use Brene Brown’s Authenticity Pledge as my screen saver.

Brene Brown

I just love it.

Last week, during a meeting with a client, I ducked out of my office for something.  When I came back, he was turned around in his chair, reading the Authenticity Pledge.

That led to us, after we had done our paperwork, to having a much longer chat.  About life.  About living.  About choices.

After he left, I had an impulse.  Why not buy him a copy of Brene Brown’s book, The Gifts of Imperfection?  This particular client would be going through lots of “I’m not _______ enough” as he makes his way through a life decision (divorce) that was not his own.

I haven’t even read this book myself, but I love the idea that there are gifts in all of us that come from our very imperfection that we usually try to hide from the world.

Anyway, I decided to just act on that impulse.

2013-03-22 10.27.41

I ordered a copy (and a spare – who knows where that one will end up!?!) and within a couple of days it had arrived.  I immediately added some words of my own, and got it away in the mail.

The next day after seeing another client, when we finished our meeting, I really felt that it had been both for her and for me had been pretty emotionally draining. As she stood to leave, I thought that I would really love a coffee and by the looks of her, so could she.  So I suggested to her that we grab a coffee together.

We took a walk to the end of our street, to a gorgeous little cafe and art gallery (yes!) that is so cute and welcoming and quiet and arty and just such an absolute sanctuary from my work office.

2013-03-20 13.07.19

I love their sign.  Welcome to Mosphere 🙂
Even more, I love the relaxed peaceful vibe when I step inside.

2013-03-20 13.05.46

I just love it.  Nothing matches.  It all just works, without a matchy matchy set in sight.

So, we sat in the quiet, surrounded by the beauty and emotion of some pretty amazing art, and talked.  Not much about why we were working together, but a lot more about yoga and working and puppy dogs and our kids.

Then as we were leaving the lovely owner made sure we took some of her chilli’s.  There to be shared, with those who would like them.  I gladly took a few, and felt a real circle of kindness around me.

2013-03-20 13.05.21

I wonder when you next feel an impulse for kindness, and what might happen if you just act on that impulse.  And where the circle of kindness might complete it’s loop around you.

K xxx

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kind Monday. Acting on Impulse.

  1. What a great post. I’ve been reading these and have loved them. What wonderful ways to share a little kindness around.

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Oh, thanks so much!
      Sometimes these posts feel a bit light and fluffy and useless.
      Then your comment reminds me.
      Thank you xx

  2. Pingback: Kind Monday. The Follow Through. | Alphabet Rainbows

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

