Beaming Smiles. In the Next Town.

I am filled with love and gratitude right now, and I cannot stop my beaming smile.  It may burst quickly as it involves young children, so I’d better write quickly. 🙂

My sister, Suzannah, her husband Rob and their daughter Presley are moving to the very next town!!!

I’m just so excited that I will have some of my family close to me.

In 1996 Dean and I moved to the Sunshine Coast from Brisbane.  Not really because we wanted to move here, but because, frankly, this was the place that I was able to get a job when I finished uni.  I remember us talking after I had seen the ad in the paper for an articled clerk with a Maroochydore firm.  Dean said what ended being some pretty important and on reflection, funny, words.  “Why not just go for it.  Obviously we won’t live there, but it’ll give you a good chance to get a practice interview”.

As I walked out of that interview, I remember saying to Dean that they’d better not offer me the job, because then we were in trouble, because I really liked them.

They offered me the job.  We decided to move.  And so we ended up here.  On the Sunshine Coast.  Knowing nothing and no one.

In those early months, Dean got a part time job driving pizzas at night.  And we would go out together, me trying to read the UBD for this area that we did not know.  At all.  Trying to deliver pizzas on a deadline.  Those dark pizza infused nights were difficult.  Really difficult.

Anyway, in time, we built our life here, our children were born here, and we love the Sunshine Coast.  Completely.  I truly would not want to live anywhere else.

But I do miss having family close by.  My parents and one of my sisters live in Brisbane, just over an hour’s drive away.  And I just thought that’s how it would always be.  Dean’s parents live in Nambour, which is just a 5 to 10 minute drive from us.  And no matter how lovely they are, or how much they care, it’s not the same as my family.

And then, by an amazing twist of events, things that no one could have ever possibly imagined, Suzannah and her hubby are buying a house.  In the next town to me.

Which is great.  Super great!!  In just a few weeks, I can start popping in.  For cups of tea, cold drinks, bathroom stops, and I just need to talk moments.  On a whim.  Without an hour’s drive.  I sincerely hope that Suzie will feel the same with me.

This also means that Presley will be living in the next town.  I am just so thrilled for Sabrina and Presley.  These 2 little cousins genuinely love each other.  They have their spats (all young kids do), but they both get ridiculously excited to see each other, and the world is always full of giggling and silliness when they are together.

It started a long long time ago.

2009-10-17 17.30.55

Here they are, as little people, happy to play together.  I still have on my phone, a few seconds of the video footage of this moment.  With Sabrina, in her broken baby speak, saying “Presley have it?” repeatedly as she holds block after block for Presley to take.  Presley takes each block, throws it behind her, and on it goes.

2013-02-16 19.01.04

Here are the girls, just a month ago, when we went to Sizzler for Dean’s birthday.  At one point,I took them to the toilet, and they were giggling and generally being silly and having a great time.  Someone said “are they twins?” which made me beam.  I just love their connection.

 2013-03-30 08.54.25

And now, with Suzie about to be living just around the road, there can be a lot more of this.  The girls, hanging out together.  Perhaps not colour matching every single time though 🙂  My heart is feeling so warm and full today, because Presley is here for the morning, while Suzie and Rob (and plenty of helpers) are working hard at their house.  I love that Presley is here, just chilling with Sabrina.  No big deal.  No great family celebration.  Just an everyday moment, which is perhaps even more important.

I’ve had a few everyday moments in this week that were the start of beaming smiles.

There was a beaming smile after Bikram yoga yesterday, after I stayed on my feet for the standing sequence and in the room for the full set.  A baking beaming smile as I pulled from the oven my first batch ever of scrummy hot cross buns.  They were so good, I’m about to go and start another batch right now for the hardworking house reno team.  And more beaming smiles for my kids.  Yesterday we had 3 extras for the boys, and today we have Presley.  How much better can it get?

What has made you beam this week?

K xxx

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Beaming Smiles. In the Next Town.

  1. Debyl1 says:

    So happy for you Kathryn.I knew this was going to be a great year for you.
    Having family close by will be beautiful for the adults and especially so for the young ones.
    The Sunshine Coast is one of my favourite places ever.
    Just think of all the wonderful times you all can have at the beach and parks.

    What made me beam this week…. I was finally able to get mums room mate L to join our daily knitting group at the Nhome.L always stayed in her room not wanting to join in with anything because she cant hear properly.I felt so sad for her.
    As she knits so beautifully and hearing isn’t a big issue when knitting, I suggested she come to our group and help knit squares as we could really do with some help from someone as talented as her.We will then sew them up to make a blanket and raffle it off.She absolutely loved the idea.
    I asked her to help mum as mum keeps forgetting how to knit and she is only too happy to be mums knitting partner..
    Oh K the joy in L’s face and beaming smile made my heart full as she now feels like she has a purpose….a big change from the last time we spoke when she told me she was just sitting in her room waiting to die.x

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Thanks Debbie,
      It will be great. There was much manly laughter as they chopped down a tree, and did manly stuff together yesterday.
      Then an impromptu sleepover (our first) and more house work today. Some of us were prepping the floor for sanding, some were weeding, and some were washing walls.
      Just felt great.
      And I’m so pleased to hear about L. My grandma, with early dementia, knits everyday small teddy bears that she donates to the hospital for newborns. Sadly, she had to follow the pattern now, but she is still creating, still contributing.
      Beautiful to find new ways to feel engaged.
      K xxx

  2. Vanessa moore says:

    Kathryn how fantastic for you and your family to be closer.

    Not much beaming this week, missing family for some reason this Easter. Missing Tilly too. I’ll get over it. Mum arrives in a month, 1MONTH. Then everything changes.

    So, I will get back to my beaming self. Looking forward to hearing about Sabrina and Presley’s coming adventures. I love the Sizzler photo, I remember the night you took that, the love in your family is wonderful.
    Xoxoxoxoox

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Thanks Vanessa,
      Just a month hey? That’ll be done, and your Mum will be with you, before you know it.
      K xxx

  3. Pingback: Not Just Around the Corner | Alphabet Rainbows

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

