Themed Thursdays. Money. Pt1.

Wow.  I must have been on a post Christmas sugar high when I set up this blog plan for 2013.  I know that to be true, because I just checked the plan and my topic for April is Money.

Why on earth would I have nominated a monthly topic so vulnerable for me and as untouchable and taboo as Money?  Because I need to squarely stare this down and learn a whole lot more about it.  Right now, as I face having to put fingers to keyboard on 4 separate times (including my birthday) about Money, I would rather the topic be sex.  And I do NOT talk about sex.  Which probably says something else.  But anyway.

So, it’s time.  For me to explore (that bit I’m ok with) and then share (a whole lot less ok) some musings about money.

I suppose that the best place to start is the beginning.  What is money?

Australian money

Money, although you can see it and touch it, and probably spend lots and lots of time thinking about it, is completely and utterly a made up thing.

A notion of pretense that somehow seems to have dominated so many of our lives.

Isn’t it interesting, that a pretend measure created for convenience can cause so much angst.  Just stop for a moment – in the last week, last day, in fact probably the last hour, how many times have you thought about money?  For me, it would be a whole lot.  In fact, I’d love to know if there’s some research out there about thought frequency about money.  Would it be higher than sex?  I reckon it would be right up there in the running.

So if it’s pretend (which it is) how does it get to be so powerful (which it is)?

Money, as our currency of choice, creates or limits our choices for just about everything.  Food.  Housing. Transportation. Holidays. Education. You get the drill.  Everything.

And yet it is nothing.

When people we love are sick, does Money make a difference?  At the bottom line – no.

When a child has a learning difficulty, does Money make a difference?  Maybe a couple of difference treatment options, but no.

When a relationship is falling apart, does Money make a difference?  Not really.

So, how do we learn to balance the healthy love of money (it does a whole lotta good in my life, and probably yours – all those everythings I mentioned) with the essential need to focus on what truly matters in life (the not money things).

I am starting to believe that there is a duality to many things.  And money, is a very good example of that.  We need it.  We don’t need it.  We should strive for it, but not at the expense of the things that *cue cliche* money can’t buy.

To me, my relationship with money, has come far enough that I am comfortable to say that I am truly grateful for it.  And, as duality would have it, it was only when we had so very very little, when I was juggling $80 or $100 for days on end and trying to juggle just how I was going to get the best out of those dollars, that I truly learned to be grateful.  It really took the days of so very very little because I could stop my complaining and worries about not enough, and to focus on being grateful for what we did have.

And for me, the lesson today from giving some time for mind to Money, is to remind me of just that.  To be grateful for EVERY dollar and cent that comes my way.

I wonder how the world would change, if we could all make the small Gigantic shift, from the focus on not enough and wanting more, to being grateful.

I AM grateful for Money.  Despite it’s made up artificial nonsense, I am grateful for what I can do with the cents and dollars that come to me.  I am SUPER GRATEFUL for what I can do with those cents and dollars.

Wanna try it?  Being a bit more conscious of every time that money enters your mind, and reminding yourself to be grateful.  For every  amount, big and small.

K xxx

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Themed Thursdays. Money. Pt1.

  1. Amanda says:

    Money is just another form of energy exchange. Money comes easily, money comes often. I am so grateful that I have more than enough coming to me to facilitate my lifestyle and that of my family. 🙂

  2. Debyl1 says:

    I agree..wouldn’t it be wonderful if everyone was grateful for what they have?
    I believe we don’t need a lot of dollars and cents and with just a little we can do so much for another.x

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Yes Debbie,

      Gratitude, or more specifically a Gratitude Practice, is a life changer !!
      And enough to help another. Always!!!
      K xxx

  3. Money has always been my biggest worry even though I have never been without. So makes no sense! I am turning that around in 2013 🙂

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Go you, Kama!
      I have let it take up waaay too much of my brain chatter as well 🙂
      Let me know if you figure how to stop it.
      K x

  4. Nikki Morgan says:

    Great post, and so true, if we could all change our focus on what is wrong to what is right, the world would be a much better place 🙂 xxx Nikki@WonderfullyWomen

  5. Di says:

    It takes up way too much of my brain chatter also Kathyrn. Great thoughts and yes I am very grateful for the money that comes my way. Like Kama i have spent years worrying about it.

    Love your writing Cheers Di

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Thanks Di,
      It helps to know it’s not “just me”.
      If you find a tip, let me know!!
      K x

      • Di says:

        Hi,
        From the worry point of view the ‘old and gold’ book ‘How to Stop Worrying and Start Living’ by Dale Carnegie helped me with the worry issue and I often recommend it to clients.
        Money now there is a challenge…I think genuinely expressing gratitude is a huge step and when paying a bill rather than think ‘hell not more money’ say for the power bill. Instead express gratitude that you have the money to pay and also to enjoy the benefits of power…hope I am not teaching you to suck eggs Kathryn.

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

