What if we didn’t wait for the crisis?

“Imagine the change if we did it now”.  It was a sentence that hit me.  In the face.

Yesterday I was chatting with a friend about food and nutrition.  We were sharing stories of documentaries we’d seen with their seemingly miraculous outcomes.

We talked about The Fast Diet, green juices and vegie juices.

We spoke about my Uncle Neil who is dealing with a pretty serious cancer diagnosis.  About how he has made some pretty radical changes in his diet.  When I last caught up with he and Aunty Glenys, they were talking about how they had adopted a lot of those changes striving to move their bodies from acidic to alkaline.  Their changes included eating no meat, shifting to a vegetable based diet and incorporating a daily vegie juice.

And it must be doing something. When I last saw Uncle Neil he had just been through a 6 week cycle that included 4 chemo treatments, and really, he was looking and sounding great.  The best I had seen of him since late last year, truth me told.

The friend I was with yesterday was talking about a friend of hers who had included vegie juices in their diet after a cancer diagnosis.  She was telling me that they had a  greater quality of life while they were alive than many others.

In the midst of this chat she said “Imagine the change if we did it now.  If that’s what it does for people with cancer, imagine what it would do for us”.

I couldn’t get that out of my head.

So far, I’ve really been feeling pretty pleased about the changes we have made with food in our home over the last year or so.  As a family, we probably flatlined with our food about 2 years ago, and stayed at that low point for another year or so.  No surprises that Dean and I each put on weight, and neither of us had the best headspace in the world.

002

Here we are all dressed up.  Our faces smiling hard.  But our eyes so sad.  This was about the time when we both started to think “When did this happen?”.

2013-02-16 18.52.35

Here we are hamming it up just a few months ago.  A whole lot more “in” our bodies, with our minds in a much better place and even more importantly eyes that show a sparkle of fun.

So, recently, there’s been a bunch of “I’m so grateful for how far we’ve come” stuff in my mind.

But imagine if, rather than looking back to compare, if I would look forward.  And if, rather than waiting for some crisis, what if we could make the changes we would then, now.

What if we bit the bullet, grabbed ourselves a juicer and did no more than added a daily vegie juice.  I wonder what that would do for our bodies and our minds.

The question though is bigger than vegie juices.

It is more about knowing what we would do in the face of a crisis.

If you were faced with a crisis in your relationship – what would you do to save it?

If you were faced with a crisis in your health – what would you do to save it?

If you were faced with a crisis in your finances – what would you do to save them?

And then consider what if you did those things now?

If they would save from you a crisis, just imagine where they would take you from where you are right now.

Mmmm this feels juicy.  In so many ways!

I’d love to hear your ideas!

K xxx

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What if we didn’t wait for the crisis?

  1. Vanessa moore says:

    Juicy? Yes definitely. Sometimes making the decision to make a change than MAKING the change itself.

    Crisis creates the need for change however sometimes mo matter how hard I try it doesn’t.

    I agree make the change now without the crisis and it is more rewarding. I did that with my weight and it worked.

    Now I need to remove the MAKING from the next decision I made to get fitter and healthier. Forget it. Then let it happen just like my weight.

    Great conversation, yet again
    Thank you xoxoxo

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      oh yes!!
      I totally get this 🙂
      Like so many things, once the decision is made, it just flows.
      Go for it. 🙂
      K xxx

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

