Kind Monday. Helping the Opposition

This week, I had a pretty cool moment that I shared with a client.

He popped in to collect some paperwork from me, and we got to talking.  About things, how he’s doing, and keeping his head in his uncertainty.

He was telling me that he has started putting taking care of himself a bit more seriously, and that he had bought himself a book on the weekend.  I remember saying how much I love books (I really do!) and asked him which one he’d bought.

He looked at me and said Louise Hay’s You Can Heal Your Life.  He stayed quiet, but his eyes said “Do you think I’m crazy?”.  I told him how much I loved that book.

2013-06-03 20.02.58

I grinned as I told him that my copy lived on my bedside table.  I keep it close and open it often.  Particularly when I get a bit sick or sore to seek some guidance.  Louise Hay was the first writer who introduced me to the idea that our bodies are talking to us about our emotions when we are sick or in pain.

He grinned a mile wide and visibly relaxed.  He was telling me about how he was going to order some more books because he wanted to share it.  I particularly loved that he could look me in the eye and say he had been working on his affirmations, and the challenge of getting beyond saying them, and believing them.

As we were talking I remembered that I had a copy of the You Can Heal Your Life Movie in my office.  For some reason it was rattling around in the bottom of a drawer.  I almost skipped around to my room, rustled around to find the disc, and brought it back around.

I said to him that the book is great, but I had actually found the movie had been one of the most important pieces for me.  Particularly the scenes that show the inner talk of a few people walking near each other.  It was one of the first real moments that I started to see that perhaps my thoughts weren’t all I had thought they were cracked up to be.  And that maybe, just maybe, I really could change them.  I gave him the Movie and told him to please take it and share it.

My client said to me that he was going to give the movie to his ex.  He smiled as he said that he couldn’t wait for his ex to ask where he got it from.  “I’m going to tell her that I’ve got the right type of lawyer.”  We both beamed.

What better thing in the world, than to give to your opposition.

It was certainly a moment that felt pretty great for both of us.

Like we were part of a conspiracy for good 🙂

K xxx

 

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kind Monday. Helping the Opposition

  1. Vanessa moore says:

    Crikey your office will be empty soon, all this stuff going out to other people. Fells good huh!

    It is sooooooo coming together. Again as I said in reply to the Birthday post “privileged” to share with you.

    Wow! Xxoxoxooxox

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

