Themed Thursdays. Connection. Pt3.

Last year my Mum had a stroke.  In front of us, and there was nothing we could do.  If you don’t know that story, I have told it here.

In the aftermath of her stroke, I saw something that I had never seen before.

Suddenly, my Mum was my Mum, but not as I had known her before.

For the first time I was figuring out that it is possible to lose connection.  With yourself.

It still makes me stop and ponder.  That there is just a shiny gossamer thread that connects us, not only with the world around us, but with ourselves.

2013-06-15 12.51.13

I really do hope that I don’t lose my connection with myself.

Because without it, I can’t have a connection with anyone else.

And just the thought of that, breaks my heart.

 

K xxx

 

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Themed Thursdays. Connection. Pt3.

  1. Debyl1 says:

    So many tears as I read this touching post.
    I don’t really know why.
    Maybe because after helping at the nursing home with a trip out to the club for some of the lovely oldies,my mum said “thank you for the lovely day.”
    I felt that connection which sometimes,sadly just isn’t there.It made my heart sing.xx

  2. Vanessa moore says:

    Made me realise that amongst all the angst,, arguments, annoying comments and bad behaviour in the 7 weeks my Mum has been been living with us the most important element is our connection.

    I am lucky and so is she. Thanks for the reminder Sista.

    I almost lost mine with myself, thank goodness for my coach keeping me on track and encouraging me to put biz second for a time so I can take care of myself.

    So true self connection should always be first. We learnt this one at the same time! Xoxoxo

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Of course, we learnt it at the same time!!!
      How funny and appropriate, my dear soul sista xxxx
      It always does start with the self, doesn’t it.
      K xxx

  3. Jenny Humphrey says:

    I had an interesting ‘connection’ conversation with my youngest daughter Kate today. Just to fill you in…. we live in Zim and she lives in Melbourne…she was married on Easter Sunday this year. She asked/maybe almost told me that ‘we werent going to live over here for always….were we??? It made me smile…and feel extraordinarily loved at the same time. I asked her not to worry about us-and to make the most of every day. Only God knows how long we will be on this Earth. My father died very suddenly at age 59…my husband(Kate’s dad) has just turned 60. I went through very similar thoughts as Kathryn when Laurie turned 59…life and relationships are precious…make the most of every day and thank God for it. Jen

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      So true,
      We do need to make the most of every day, and be grateful for the blessing of each new day.
      And how wonderful that Kate would love you to live close to her.
      K xxx

  4. Wanderlust says:

    Katherine, what a beautiful and sad post, and very profound. I’m sorry to learn of your mom’s stroke, and the residual changes. My father passed away about 10 years ago, but several years before that he developed dementia (related to Parkinson’s). A different situation than yours, of course, but I understand that loss of connection. Wishing all the best for you and your family.

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Thanks for your kind thoughts.
      I’m sorry to hear about your loss of your Dad, which probably happened a few times. When he was diagnosed, as things changed, and then when he passed away.
      I appreciate your understanding.
      K xxx

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

