Kind Monday. The Clayton’s Story.

Tonight, I am quite simply, showing up.

I have no story to share.

But I’m still going to show up, write some words, and hit publish.

Not because you need to read these words, but because I need to write them.

I have done some reflection over my week, and while I have no one story to share, I love sitting and considering the waves of kindness flowing in and around me.

It is time to make sure that I feed my soul.  I am rattled and wobbly and have been full of self recrimination lately.

Which means that what I truly need to do is to step back, return to doing what I love, knowing that strangely when I am doing more of what I love, more of what I “should” be doing gets done anyway.

So, here are a few moments where I felt those waves of kindness this week:

– when I could look a colleague in the eye, after they told me they were feeling stuck, and I could say “I’m happy to help, just sit with you and help get the next step done”

– when I bought a packet of Skittles for the teen tonight, just because he’s tops

– when I brought my quiet crisis to the screen, and you wonderful people (you know who you are) whispered and hugged me through it

I’m looking at this post feeling annoyed and bothered and frustrated because I didn’t create the moment or take the opportunity for a true kindness moment.  But at least I showed up.  Like that first walk, run, gym session or yoga class after a break.  It’s fairly ugly, but necessary.

So, I leave you with my ugly, but necessary post.

Here’s to working through the ugly, to find the beauty again.

2013-07-14 13.04.42

I hope Tyben’s had a great first day at camp, and I can’t wait to see his crazy capers at the end of the week.  Here he is grabbing a selfie as I drove him down to school ready to head off to Canberra.

K xxx

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kind Monday. The Clayton’s Story.

  1. Debyl1 says:

    Oh Kathryn but you did take the opportunity for a true kindness moment…..this Kind Monday you showed kindness to yourself.
    You wrote and hit publish because you needed to write.
    Feel proud of yourself as I do, for you fed your soul.x

  2. Mellisa says:

    Have a thought for you to ponder Kathryn. How do you not know by simply showing up you brighten someone elses day or make a comment that makes someone reflect on their journey through life so I say thankyou for just showing up.

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Thanks Mellissa,
      I really appreciate you taking the time to comment. X
      You’re right. We never know where and when we are helping others!
      Love
      K xx

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

