Through the Lens

I have tons of candid, poor quality, much loved iPhone pictures.  I share them in the space that suits them, on my phone, my computer screen, Facebook, Twitter and here on my blog.

But when I look around in my home it is surprisingly bare.  There is some artwork, but we are not to be seen, anywhere. Our home has besser block walls, so adding pictures and art pieces is not as easy as in most other homes.  We can’t just grab a hammer, bang in a nail, add a hook, and voila!  Instead, we need a cement drill, special doodas to put in the wall (you can see this is my speciality!) and after lots of noise and plenty of concrete dust we have a permanent and substantial hole in our wall, ready for a hook.

But in our usual conservative and practical leaning, we have limited those holes, because what if we want to change things?  What if it ends up in the wrong place, and we have a great big hole in the wall? Without a doubt, it’s time to stop worrying about that.

I have wanted to add family photos to our home for a long time, but just haven’t had enough of a reason to get past our excuses.

The recent months have made some things abundantly clear to me.  Family really does matter. I want for us, and for our children, to feel surrounded by our family on a daily basis. To see that they fit somewhere pretty special.  I hope to help me, and help them, to know that they will always belong, even on that day when it seems like no one would ever want to have them.

I have already told the story of Mum & Dad’s anniversary party.  One of Suzannah and Bronwyn’s best ideas was to get some special photos taken at the party.  Suzie asked her friend Stuart Drever to come and be our photographer.  He did a great job, and the photos are amazing!  I wish I could show you them all.

Thanks Stuart!!!

I love what can be seen when someone helps to give you the clarity of focus that comes when from looking through the lens.

Dad’s tie that he wore to his wedding wasn’t just a plain colour, it was paisley!

DSC_0638

I had never noticed that before.

I loved seeing how Mum and Dad, as Ma and Pa, can find a way to include their grandchildren in whatever they are doing, even if it is in the middle of a special party!

DSC_0717

We saw moments of emotion captured by the lens.

DSC_0720

I am so glad that we acted on those nudges.  After hearing the wonderful loving comments shared about Neil at his funeral, we decided that we didn’t want to be sharing those things perhaps for the first time at a funeral.  After all, who really stops to say Thank you and I Love You if you can get away with Happy Anniversary.

Instead, we took our courage, and said to our parents, in front of their friends and family, our own special words written just for them.  I’m not sure about Suzannah and Bronwyn, but I certainly felt quite vulnerable as my letter to Mum & Dad was definitely more real than I would have usually said in a public setting.

DSC_0737

Dear Dad is struggling not to lose it here, as he says his own special words after hearing ours.  And look at Mum’s face.  That is love x

DSC_0728

This is my personal “through the lens” moment.  It shows Dad, helping Mum with her recent vision issues, to read the inscription on the beautiful knife they were given.  The poignancy of this photo, for me, is that I grew up in a home where Mum was always the one helping Dad to read things.  This picture makes me catch my breath.  Every time I see it. x

DSC_0670

And I’m pretty sure that when Mum and Dad saw the photos that this one made them catch their breath.

DSC_0673a

Or was it this one?

DSC_0665

Or my absolute favourite photo of the day.

Thank you Stuart, for capturing us through the lens. This picture is definitely going on a wall in my home.

And so, finally, we have a nice photo of Dean, myself and the children.

DSC_0644

Suzie, Rob and Presley were looking happy and snuggly together.

DSC_0651

And Bronwyn and Phillip, after their amazing wedding photography had to slum it with the rest of us 🙂

DSC_0655

I am grateful for this opportunity to see us, through the lens, and feel all warm and gooey inside.

Now, where is that cement drill?

What is a cement drill?

Have you had any “through the lens” moments recently?  I’d love to hear about them.

K xx

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Through the Lens

  1. Debyl1 says:

    Beautiful photos K.Too nice not to be on the wall for all to see that’s for sure.
    I will never forget a friends house I went to as a teenager.Beside the dining table was a wall absolutelyl covered in photos.My friends Mum said she believed in sharing them as when they are in a photo album no one gets to see them.
    I have several frames on my dining wall now and each one has 10 to 20 photos in it.
    It makes a great conversation piece as everyone who comes over cant help but see all our memories on our wall.
    When it is my daughters birthday or our anniversary etc we bring out the photo albums and go through them and relive all the special moments again.
    I love how we can just simply look at a photo and it will instantly bring a smile to our face.
    You have shown us many gorgeous family photos that will bring lots of beautiful smiles to your faces.
    Thank you for sharing.xx

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Thanks Debbie,
      I am thinking about putting up a few framed nice ones.
      Then creating some larger spaces to out up lots of pictures. Maybe even just my iPhone moments 🙂
      I’m looking forward to it!!
      K xxx

  2. Glen Hunter says:

    Yes, when attending the christening of my grand-daughter in Victoria and thinking how amazingly lucky she has been to be born into a ‘family’ who is willing to share all things for the enjoyment of all. Also for the enjoyment of pastimes of previous generations which will be enjoyed by the present generation and hopefully generations to come, just because that’s what the ‘family’ does eg yabbying, toasting mash mellows over an open fire, sharing holidays with cousins, building things, going boating on the dam, sitting in front of an open fire telling stories and so on. That to me is very special considering these things have and hopefully always will be done with shared love. Put those things into photos and they become particularly special. As for having them around the house I try to always have family memorabilia scattered throughout the house so they can be reminders of good times or special milestones
    .

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Aaah what wonderful moments to share the stories of old and create new stories for the future.

      I’m sure your beautiful grand-daughter is building her story of family already.

      K xx

  3. Vanessa moore says:

    Ha most of mine are in a box or on my phone or on my PC.

    Crazy isn’t it. I grew up treasuring the albums my Mum used to put together. As an adult I have had no discipline with photos.

    I remember when Tilly went to rainbow bridge I spent a whole day going through all my folders on my PC and the pics on my phone desperately searching for pics to put on a USB for my digital picture frame. I did it eventually.

    But yes it is an issue. Again it comes down to space and time. We are renting so no holes. I Like my digi frame.

    In your house why not create a wall. You could string fishing wire between 2 hooks and hang frames, less holes that way. Or you can get collage frames. Or you can get canvas pictures of collages printed. Or you could get a photo ladder (saw them at Target once).

    There is loads of ways. My Mum has unmatched frames of pics all over her house, tops of cupboards, tables, shelves in front of books……they are everywhere.

    Most importantly, just have fun doing it.

    By the way, does Susie have 3 hands? Or is that you joining in the fun?

    Love the pics of your Mum and Dad. Well done to you beautiful girls for creating a wonderful day for them.

    Love you lots….
    Xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Ooooh I really love the idea of the canvas collages!!

      I had thought of doing a small handful of special framed pictures, and then some larger boards or string that could change from time to time.

      And yes, I was in on it! Just wished I’d remembered to “do” Suzie!!!

      Thanks and mwah!!!
      K xxxxxoxxxxx

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

