The Reality of Dreams

Years ago I read a book that changed the way I look at food. It was Cyndi O’Meara’s Changing Habits. Cyndi spoke about choosing real foods and a wide variety of them.  There was no talk of “diet” or “counting calories”.  It was about true health and eating full flavoured foods made from quality wholefood ingredients.

I felt like I had found my food home.

In that book, she spoke about a thing called a Thermomix.  A kitchen appliance that could replace all others and allow for greater flexibility with food preparations.  At the time I hit Google (as you should right now) and I was amazed at what this thing could do.  Chop, weigh, mix, cook, stir and on and on.  Ooooh I just imagined how wonderful it would be if I could have one.

I also saw that it was just shy of $2000. For a fancy blender thingy.

Obviously “we can’t afford it” and so we made do, with a whole bunch of other appliances.  Leading to our kitchen bench usually looking like an appliance hangout.

2013-09-19 06.55.30

This is just some of them.  Not joking.

Then a friend bought a Thermomix, and I got to see it in action.  We went over one evening and around the chaos of 6 children between us, they whipped up a dip, bread rolls, butter chicken, fruity icecream and a birthday cake.  From real ingredients. In the time it would normally take to have dinner together. 

I. Was. In. Food. Love.

I grabbed a picture of a thermomix, and pinned it to my dream chart.  And it has stayed there ever since.  Waiting until “we can afford it”.

Just a couple of weeks ago, I went to my first Thermo demo.  We had fruit sorbet, a pizza bread, risotto and chocolate custard.  All made, eaten and cleaned up within 2 hours.

When our demonstrator said casually “and at the end of the day, you can just whack it in the dishwasher” I felt like my head exploded.

Suzie and I chatted all the way home from the demo about how we would be able to change the way our families eat with a Thermomix.  You want buckwheat flour in a recipe?  Just throw in the buckwheat and blitz it.  Ta da, Flour.  Trying to limit the chemicals for your children, how about making your own jam, sauce and nutella.  All with a one pot option.  Home late from work, and just want to flake out on the couch?  Throw in ingredients, hit some buttons, lay down for 17 minutes.  Ta da, Risotto.

When I got home I told Dean a few things from the demo and said “of course, we can’t get one yet, and I’m not even asking to”.  I still knew there were a lot of other things that were on the list of “what could we use $2000 for”, ahead of the Thermomix.

I don’t know what made it different this time, but within a week, Dean (he who doesn’t spend money) had ordered one.  For me.

!!!

What has been a completely surprise has been to feel my response to that decision.

I didn’t get that bubbly “Woo Hoo” feeling.  Sorry Dean.  I think that’s what he was hoping for.

Instead, I have felt a whole ton of discomfort.

After all, buying a Thermomix seems to be the sort of thing that I should share here, in this space, where I talk about food and family and cooking and surviving the busy times.  Our Thermomix has been deliberately purchased to help with those things.

But here’s the rub.  You all know it’s $2000. That has been spent on me.  Before we have sorted out our second-hand-kitchen-installed-in-the-70s, paid off our credit cards, had Jack’s eye problem fixed, finished our backyard, had that amazing family holiday together … and I could go on and on.

I’ve been fighting with the part of me that wants to say “Thanks Dean, but we really should wait”.  That part of me that wants to make sure that everyone else is happy.  The part of me that, truth be told, is uncomfortable with being worthy of a $2000 completely optional tool.

I didn’t try and fix that feeling, and magically be OK with that.  Rather, I did my best to make peace with my discomfort and find the lesson hidden inside.

After that strange little dance with myself, last night the picture on the dream chart became real on the bench.  

The lovely Aimee arrived at our home with our Thermomix.  The whole family watched as it was unpacked and we got ready to make a vegetable stock to get us going.

2013-09-20 19.53.05

We filled that bowl to the absolute brim with veggies, whizzed it, added a drizzle of oil, then cooked it.  Voila, real vegetable stock ready to go.

Aimee did a wonderful job of working around our Friday night chaos to get us up and running with our Thermomix.  If anyone is interested, please contact Aimee through her Facebook page Elite Thermotrix.  If you could pop on over and like her page that’d be tops!!  Aimee has been using her Thermomix in her family for 3 years now.  I’m guessing that she’ll have a whole bunch of healthy ideas for us!

Inspired by Aimee’s page, I have named our Thermomix.  *coughs* Drumroll please, let Tyben and I introduce you to … Trixie

2013-09-20 20.58.09This is how we felt when we found out she could whip us up some gorgeous chocolate custard in just 7 minutes.  Thanks Trixie!

Trixie is the Buzz Lightyear of my kitchen.  Today I will thank each of our other appliances for their help and put them away.

I‘m off to whiz up a batch of muffins for morning tea.  Apparently the mix will be ready in 40 seconds 🙂 Thanks Trixie!

K xxx

PS If you already have a thermomix, can you save me some trial and error time?  Throw me your favourite go-to recipes.  Mwah and thanks x

PPS What has the whole dream becoming real thing felt like to you??

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Reality of Dreams

  1. I’ve had my thermi for over three years and I am still grateful every day. I don’t use it to cook a lot of whole meals, but tend to use it more for “bits” – stock, chopping veg, mincing meat, breadcrumbs. My favourite things to make are nut butters, regular butter, pizza dough and bread, soups, risotto, custard, fruity dream, cheese/white sauces, hummos, all dips, mash, polenta, pastry, smoothies and juices. My fave recipes in the Everyday Cookbook you get with it are on pages 17, 23, 54, 62 (CADA), 71, 79, 88 (beetroot salad), 97, 101, 136, 158 (this is THE BEST recipe in the book), 166 (lemon cake), 172.

    I didn’t do a spread-sheet calculation, but I would say we saved the $2,000 in the first year of having my thermi, and I only usually cook for me plus hubby. We also eat a lot better, and eat out a lot less, as well as less takeout (but we didn’t get takeout much more than once a month anyway). We also have FAR less food wastage now.

    Look forward to hearing how much you love it and what you make.

  2. Vanessa moore says:

    Wow! I have heard about them and we did the same when we saw the hmm cough here Investment?

    Maybe if I was the cook in the house I would want one more than I do. Hubby isn’t interested so as long as he is the cook in the house then no Thermi for me.

    As for you, it is for everyone. The kids will love it and how awesome of Dean to jus go and get it. Enjoy! I am already loving the Trixie posts.

    The dream becoming real was making the last payment on my car earlier this year. I bought a brand new Mazda 3 in 2010 and making that last payment was gold. This is the first car I have ever fully owned, and I am 43. It felt and still does feel amazing. The weird bit is that now I own it I am so used to making those payments I keep thinking about getting another car! Go figure!

    I need to just sit with it and keep being happy with this one. The money can be used for something else. Maybe the ring on my dream chart!

    Xxoxoxoxoxo

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

