The Words.They Be Jumbled.

Today is a weird one for me.  My Saturday routine usually includes some doing of the mundane … dishes and breakfast and a load of washing or two … and all the while my brain is sifting and sorting and playing with The Words.

Most of the time I’m really clear on what The Words will be that I share that day. I usually feel a compelling phrase or story that I need to release and after all that sifting and sorting, I sit and tap out the words.

This week, it’s not happening easily.

And truth be told, that’s a lie.

I do have things I want to say, but I’m scared to say them.  I’m scared that if I put them out there, you’ll know.  My secret dreams and goals.

The ones that, probably, are not that secret at all.  I just think that I’m being clever and hiding them from you.

But somehow, the thought of exposing them, leaves me feeling …. well … that is the issue. I can’t get my feelings straight, because I can’t stop thinking.  “What if I say it, then I don’t do it, that’ll just show everyone how slack I am”.  “What if it’s a stupid idea”.  “What if someone who has seen me on a bad day speaks out”. “What if I really should just focus on what I already have in my life, and leave the this might change lives things to others who have more time, more time, more skills, more courage, more of everything than me”.

As I’m writing this, I can see how small minded and ego centric and simply ridiculous it is.

But for now, it is the truth.  And I wish I had some fun story from my week to tell you instead.

I am wondering what I need to do within myself to begin to shorten the time between my ideas and my actions.  In my life, so far, that has usually been a long, long time.  With a bunch of fear and scarcity stopping the action, but never quite killing the idea.

Do you have any tips for me to get me into action mode quicker …. or should I be making peace that this is my process, and it’s OK.

For now, I’m going to let the jumbled words fly, see the ideas as they could be, and go play with Trixie.

2013-09-20 20.57.49

I’m thinking chocolate mousse.  See, I can act quickly on some ideas 🙂

K xxx

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Words.They Be Jumbled.

  1. Oh my what a timely post you have written Kathryn. This, your words, are so familiar to myself and so many others and I literally just got off the phone discussing this same thing with a friend. My advice to her podcast listeners is ‘simply allow the successful, brilliant you to come into this world. All that is within you is there in order for you to allow it out, gently and non-judgmentally, so you can be the change that you are here to make’. You ask what you need to do within to let it out and I say there is nothing to be done but to allow that part of you to joyfully bubble up and be seen, the more you do it the more your comfort zone will expand and then you’ll be able to do it more and more, one step at a time, one toe in the water first and all those other wise sayings 🙂

  2. I think if you eventually get around to the action, even after that fear, then you’re a brave woman. We all feel fear, and it’s good to know we’re not alone, so for that, thank you.

  3. Vanessa moore says:

    The first thing that comes to mind is “what other people think of you is none of your business” so just write it and let it out. Those of us that read your blog would never judge you. We are here to help and sometimes guide you when and if you ask for it.

    You are on a path to something wonderful. Let go. Start writing it down and go for it.

    My lesson this week has been trust. I am and I will trust. Talking to you yesterday helped me so much. You helped clear a blockage about my ideal client. Talking to you I just blurted it out and whammo! Thankyou

    So, share share share and share. Trust yourself.

    Love you xoxoxoxo

    Ps Please post some Trixie stuff on my wall ? Hubby is close!

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

