The Sneaky Break-Up

I seem to be in the midst of a sneaky break up.

No, not with any person. But instead with something that it could be argued has a significant impact on how we see the world.

2014-01-12 11.23.32

It is the once beloved TV.

I didn’t grow up in a house with much TV devotion. There was never, ever, TV before school. When I was really young there was no TV during the week, and it only went on Saturday and Sunday evenings.

Over time, a bit of mid week viewing crept in, but it was only ever after tea.

I remember the heady days of uni, when I began living away from home, and suddenly a lunch break from study could involve a quick viewing on the complicated lives of Ridge, Brooke, Taylor, and all the gang.

I would watch the clock and leave the TV in it’s black lifeless form, until lunch time. Then I would race in, and let it weave it’s magic as I swirled through the world inhabited by Brooke and Taylor, and Ridge and Eric and Stephanie, and

Brooke and Ridge

wedding upon wedding,

Taylor and Ridge

disaster, death, revival and business ruin and success.  You Bold and Beautiful devotees. You will know 🙂

The Bold & The Beautiful

Although in time, the pesky obligations of full time work took me away from this ritual, it simply moved my devotion to evening shows, particularly as I married someone who was used to the TV being on a whole lot more than I ever had.

Friends

Remember Friends? I must admit, it makes me grin when my kids throw a series tag, record and then watch weekend marathons of the crazy capers of Monica, Ross, Chandler, Phoebe, Joey and Rachel.

Aaahhhh ….

Back in those days my non working evenings pretty much consisted of getting through the dinner and babies and children to bed carry on  … and then a blissful flop onto to the couch to be entertained. Night after night after night with pretty much whatever happened to be on. And recording shows “I couldn’t miss” and often stressing if I did have to go out.  The horror of not knowing what happened in TV land!

Over the years, I’ve found it harder and harder to flop onto to the couch and be entertained, and I am caring less and less about the things that I miss.

The shows that I needed to see began to whittle down over the years, leaving just one.

Survivor

Survivor was, in fact, the last TV survivor for me.  Humanity, in the raw, our quirks and foibles on display.

But even that, no longer has it’s addictive claws in me.

Instead, I find myself watching interviews and TED talks and docos.  Or simply frittering away my evenings with my small screen friends on FB and Twitter, while those around me are watching the TV.

Then suddenly, it hit me.

Perhaps it is just time for me to break up with the TV. Other people in my house watch it.  A lot. Which makes me sad.  But hey, so did I.

But is it time to simply accept that my TV relationship is all but over.

In fact, I have a couple more things that I can put on the break up list:

– violent movies. I. Just. Can’t. Watch. Anymore.

– meat pies. We had meat pies for dinner last week (everyone else here loves them). I made myself a smoothie instead.

Maybe I’m getting old and boring.

Maybe I’m really finding myself.

Maybe I am discovering that place that begins to show up for many around this age I am approaching. The time when you know yourself, you know what you want, and you just aren’t interested in what doesn’t “feed” you anymore.

Have you found yourself in a sneaky break up? Particularly one triggered by the coming of *cough* an age or stage??

At least it will give me more time for writing 🙂

K xxx

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Sneaky Break-Up

  1. Di says:

    Yes Kathryn I had the break up with the TV years ago,,,it was always a flakey relationship. probably never meant to be.

    Right now my break up is with ‘stuff’ a major de-clutter is on under way! It is time for change, big change and making space for the new… maybe you are making space for something new in your life! Cheers Di

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Ooooh breaking up with “stuff”. I liked that!

      Sometimes I get a bit overwhelmed and feel quite sick about how much “stuff” is all around us.

      Good on you Di!
      May your new space be filled in the perfect way.
      K xxx

      • Di says:

        Thanks Kathyrn….cheers Di I might make breaking up with stuff a blog post…its one hell of a journey…..and what an exciting one…cheers Di

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

