Lessons in a Sippy Cup

I come to this page for so many things.

Free Therapy.

To figure out what I think.

To get clear on how I see the world. My world.

To let my silly out.

To play with my creative palette, these words.

And mainly, just to tell stories.  The everyday stories from an ordinary life.

Lately, I’ve spent a lot of time at the office. Like. A lot.

Not as much as some do all of the time, but a lot for me.

When I combined that with the teen needing collecting from basketball most evenings, there was an unexpected price.  My words.

And with that. My words went tumbling away.

I found myself doing the work things, doing the talking, telling the stories of my clients, stumbling home via collecting the teen, and then collapsing at night.

I knew I wasn’t writing as much, and I missed it. I really missed and could feel a slump in my spirit because of it.

But it didn’t notice just how much lost until I saw the sippy cup.

A few weeks ago Dean and some of our children were out enjoying the glorious autumn weather recently. Dog on a leash. Skateboard and scooters. Holding hands.

Life, in all it’s beauty.

We sat down to eat lunch together, perched on rocks overlooking the ocean.

As we munched on our food, I saw the sippy cup.

The Cup

Upended.  Left in the hot sun, with no toddler nearby to be seen. Ocean to one side of the path, river to the other.

All of a sudden, for the first time in what felt like forever, I was imagining stories. The stories of that sippy cup.

Was it’s owner a little boy or a girl? Long or short hair? Delightful curls or no.

Was there a rush to leave because they had a phone call that Grandma had been rushed ot hospital in an ambulance?

Did the toddler run towards a bird in the park, and his or her parents ran to catch them and forgot their cup?

Aaahhhh I was in bliss. Just imagining all the stories that were in that cup.  In fact, I imagined a post that was a series of stories that either begin or end with the sippy cup by the beach.

I took a photo of it, to remind me that I must not lose my words.

No matter how many hours I am at the office. Or how tired I am. Or how tempting it might be to slouch beside the husband as he watches some TV program or football game that I am not interested in anyway.

That sippy cup has reminded me of my truth.

That I must write. And often.

If I was brave enough to follow my quiet inner voice, I would start doing a quick daily post called Morning Musings.

To capture the words that flow after my short morning yoga practice.  A quiet writing practice to flex my creativity muscle just after I have stretched my body.

Obviously that would be silly and time consuming and pointless.

But it seems that very often, those are the most important things of all.

Do you have a silly or pointless thing that you love, that you have let go?

And what steps could you take to begin again?

K xxx

 

 

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lessons in a Sippy Cup

  1. Wonderful post Kathryn, as always!

  2. Debyl1 says:

    Your words are NEVER silly or pointless beautiful lady.
    Not only are they food for your soul,they are also food for the soul of all who come to your space.
    I have let go of many things that I love for reasons I know you would understand.
    So many women seem to push their own pleasures and dreams aside for their families,work etc.
    Your words just reminded me how important it is we never forget to listen to our inner voice.
    Thank you.xx

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

