The Stories I cannot Tell

I wish, just for a day, that I could be a poet.

Typewriter

That my woven words created art

The beauty of the strands combined

Could hide their source from you.

With a firm pull and a twist together that they combine to show you the colour of truth.

My stories splashed across this page,

Are all of the light, sometimes my deepening grey, but never the dark of another.

Those are the stories that cannot be told.

Because the darkness of my stories is never just my own.

There are black dogs, bad words, frustration and despair.

Humanity and imperfection and wringing of hands.

The pain of failure from expectations never met.

I wish, just for a day, that I could be a poet.

That I could dance for you with the words.

Somehow dance lightly with the dark words, so you felt their truth,

Without seeing the footwork, the signature moves of the other dancers.

But instead of poetry and dancing, and moments of truthful darkness

All I can do is walk ever so clumsily through a story.

So I thrash and I bash and I keep it in the light.

But there is the dark.

There is the dark for all of us.

I wish, just for a day, that I could be a poet,

And tell the stories that cannot be told.

K xxx

 

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Stories I cannot Tell

  1. Vanessa. Moore says:

    Xoxoxo

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

