Not Just Around the Corner

I’ve known this was coming for a while now.

Even though I’ve had ages to wrap my head around it, my heart doesn’t seem to be co-operating.

Rob and Suzie are not just around the corner anymore.

Today, we went, just around the corner, and watched and helped as the final pieces of their Sunshine Coast lives were packed ready for their new beginning in Brisbane. In a home that is really quite perfect for their family.

If anyone has been reading my words long enough, you might remember the excitement and the fun when Suzie and Rob moved to the Coast.

2013-05-11 13.18.52

It was a really special move as well, because they were buying our paternal grandfather’s home. The last home my Dad lived in with his Dad, before he died. If you like a family story or two,  then check it out here and here. It’s the sort of story you couldn’t ever had predicted!

My Grandpa, my Dad’s Dad, died before I was born. I used to visit my Grandma Wakefield there when I was little, and I remember seeing some of my older cousins there.

11798319_10206434765283191_75791059_n[2]

Yes that is me, running around in the backyard with my uber groovy parents back in the 70s. And yes, that is a photo of a photo, showing how the tree from the 70s was still there in Woombye 40 odd years later!

How amazing is it that my own children have been able to run around in that yard with their cousin too.

It has been fabulous having Rob and Suzie just around the corner. There’s been quick cuppas, drop ins, helping with kids and the stuff that family do when they’re close.

But, the Sunshine Coast has never really felt like home for them.

A little while ago Rob and Suzie made the wise decision to sell, and move where their hearts and family belong. In Brisbane.

Today was the last goodbye to their life in Woombye.

036

I know that it is right that they go.

But I am sad, and feeling a little alone.

My brain reminds me that they are only an hour away, and I am grateful for that.

But, my heart keeps crying that it’s just not the same as being around the corner.

I miss them already, and for just today, I am going to allow my sadness to speak.

I think there’ll be tears before the day is done.

As Suzie just said to me, when I let her know that I am giving my blog to the sadness today, “Wouldn’t it be lovely to have it all”.

To each be able to follow our hearts, and settle where we feel at home, as well as live just around the corner from each other.

But, life has not worked out like that.

And so, we three sisters, have followed our hearts and made our homes where we each belong.

Bronwyn in Townsville. Suzannah in Brisbane. Kathryn on the Sunshine Coast.

Phone calls and texts are great. It’s just not the same as being able to drive over, late at night, in your PJs, and share dessert and a chat late into the night, just because.

Rob, Suzie, Presley and Fraser, I’ll miss you.

K xxx.

 

 

 

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Not Just Around the Corner

  1. denysejwhelan says:

    Sad for you.. I’m still “grieving” for the family we’ve left behind in Sydney since we made a lifestyle choice to move to a gentler paced life on NSW Central Coast. I’m getting better but I miss regular contact such as a catch up got coffee with my DD & seeing the grandkids. It’s been harder than I might have imagined but something we had to do for a mortgage free life. Trust things improve but like all things in life, change happens. Denyse x

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      That would have been hard for you Denyse. I know how much you love your family, especially your grandkids.
      I absolutely know this is right for them. Just having a little sad Sally moment.
      It will be right for everyone.
      These things always are.
      K xxx

  2. Oh K – I am sad for you too – I remember well when they moved in. I guess it is true we all do have to go where our hearts take us and where it feels like home. I know it is not quite the same as popping around the corner but yes you do still have phone/facetime/skype/texts… and a great excuse for a Brissy escape xx

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      It’s so funny, because I never imagined they wouldn’t feel at home here.
      Only because we do. As soon as we arrived, Dean and I knew we would be staying.
      Thank goodness for technology!
      K xx

  3. OMG I forgot to say – I absolutely LOVE that photo of a photo!

  4. Vanessa. Moore says:

    Distance can be an amazing thing, for me with some it made relationships even better, others well, obviously they weren’t there in the first place.

    For you, now when you go to Brisbane you have someone else to visit. You have a strong bond with those sisters of yours, distance of land will mean nothing. Xoxoxoxo

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Thanks gorgeous!
      Yes, we are connected … and our technology will be running hot!
      Thank you for your support from afar as well.
      K xxx

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

