Be Insanely Useful. A personal story. The #PBEvent edition.

It’s kinda funny. To just say it. “I went to ProBlogger”.  Like it’s no big deal.

096

WHEN IT IS THE BIGGEST FREAKING DEAL EVER!!

I first start writing words on this here page over 5 years ago now. I started doing what Kelly Exeter from A Life Less Frantic spoke of in her awesome Session.

I began by madly reading Edenland, Mrs Woog, VeggieMama and so many more personal bloggers. I thought that the way to have a blog, was to copy them. Talk like them. Sound like them. And I tried to write like them.

On the weekend, they were there. At the same event as me. In real life! I hugged them, fangirled all over them, and asked them to write for me.

118

And they did. LEGENDS!!!

Looking back, I secretly thought that someone would read my words, and say “oh, you’re an amazing writer, come this way to the land of milk and honey”.

I kept writing. And no one took me to the promised land.

Which makes perfect sense after all that I heard at the ProBlogger event about the work involved in having a blog that goes places. I never did the work to deserve that sort of reach.

Over the years, I changed. I found my voice. Even now, I realise that this isn’t a blog post that is likely to be shared, because I’m not “being insanely useful”, or “solving a problem”.

Instead, I’m just using my voice, my words, to tell you a story.

My story.

I had a truly great time at the event. There were people walking all around me, that I’ve only ever seen in a square profile pic on a screen. Many hugs were shared, the smiles were big, and there was so much warmth, surrounded by my online friends.

088

Like my gorgeous twitter mate, Mel Kettle. We’ve been twitter pals for years, and when we were able to chat easily as we went on a morning walk together, it proved to me that online friends are real friends.

I also had a moment that stopped me, on that walk. Mel and I were walking with Michelle Green from The Business of Baking. I’ve never met or spoken with Michelle before, and when she asked me about my blog, I said my usual “I’ve got this silly personal blog that does nothing, and isn’t really about anything”.  Michelle was quick to say “Now that you’ve told me what’s shit about it, could you please tell me what’s good about it”. Thank you Michelle for that moment. I have to stop dismissing this little personal blog that has my heart and feeds my soul.

There was also a ton of amazing business information to feed my ever curious business brain. Like an insanely crazy amount of helpful information.

And, although I could talk about practical this and that, and google analytics, and the reach of podcasts, really these were the things that given me nice big juicy thoughts.

  • Now is the time for Purposeful Blogging
  • Put your idea out there, and let the world decide
  • What simple and life changing result could you teach your community right now?
  • If you want a business, treat it like a business from the start
  • Create something that doesn’t exist
  • Give away information that is better than your competitors would charge for
  • Reveal your Secrets
  • Be insanely useful

I feel like it is time to give my life and my business a shake up, and to begin again by thinking about what would be insanely useful to share with the world.

Today, I decided to bake something in honour of my love affair with blogging. I made the Epic Chocolate Fudge Cake shared by Fat Mum Slim on her blog recently.

107

At the end of the conference, Darren Rowse, The ProBlogger himself, challenged us to commit to One Thing.

As I munched on that truly epic chocolate cake, I committed to my One Thing.

#PBEvent #OneThing

I am going to commit to reveal my secrets. Not just my personal secrets, but my business secrets.

  • To give away insanely useful information about how to have a Simple Separation (in my life as a family lawyer).
  • To give away my insights into people, conflict and connection (in my #unlawyering cause to be more helpful)
  • To create a space for a community where their need is the Juggle in a life. A community where family, home, business, money, simplicity and personal connection matters (in my soon to be launched blog that I will treat as a business from the start).

Because, when I tried to represent my “niche” at the conference by placing a sticker in my notebook, I ended up with this.

The Happiness Juggle

And I know that I’m not alone in having a Happiness Juggle 🙂

This blog, my gorgeously awkward Alphabet Rainbow, will continue to shine.

As a place to tell my stories. Because, after all the business strategies have been created and implemented, I still believe that sharing personal stories matters.

K xxx

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Be Insanely Useful. A personal story. The #PBEvent edition.

  1. starbritewarrior says:

    I love this piece Kathryn. Such heartfelt expression of your writing journey and your lessons learned at Problogger (which, by the way, I totally agree was epic!) Please make sure you reveal your secrets, your ‘one thing’ to the world, and keep shining your light on Alphabet Rainbow. You have a true gift. Bree xx

  2. surelysarah says:

    Ah Kathryn, what wonderful goals! It was so lovely to connect with you through Sonia at the event, and I am so happy to read that you’ve gotten so much out of it. I will be reading whatever you write 🙂

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Wasn’t it lovely, sitting in the sunshine, chatting with people who “get” this whole blogging caper.
      Oh, you’re gorgeous to say you will read my words.
      Make sure you sure yours as well 🙂
      K xxx

  3. Vanessa says:

    I love the phrase happiness jungle!! Adore it!

  4. mcarthurholdings says:

    My scribbled notes from Problogger have a similar theme! I’ve built an action list but still working on ‘the one thing’. Reading this was a great little refresher. Look forward to reading both your blogs 😉

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Oooh cool!
      Make sure you share your ‘one thing’ as well!
      Good luck choosing it from the action list 🙂
      K xxx

  5. Mel Kettle says:

    Love it. And loved meeting you. We need to make sure we catch up more often now. Fab post, sums up my thoughts too xx

  6. Veggie Mama says:

    SO exciting to see you take the next step!!

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Oh, thank you gorgeous one.
      I really did appreciate you letting me be all gushy about how cool it was to meet you. You were so gracious, even though I was so gumby about it. 🙂
      K xxx

  7. rodneybukuya says:

    I love this Kathryn. Thank You for sharing your great learning from PB.

  8. jerry says:

    This is great Kathryn – I had a similar learning at PBEvent 🙂 Still going through my notes (filled two notebooks) but I did have an epiphany of sorts about my ‘why’ – and that will lead to a new and bolder direction for my travel blog. Still formulating it but the why will give me a mini-pivot and help me get my what and how straightened out. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Oooh this is awesome! A mini-pivot.
      I love it!
      Make sure you share it with me. I’d love to know where it leads for you.
      K xxx

      • jerry says:

        I’ll happily share it with you as I develop it – essentially moving TheFogwatch.com from a straightforward ‘this is what you’ll see’ travel blog into one that is more about travelling mindfully and building your sense of who you are through travel and reflection. I’ll be incorporating more about the philosophy of travel and the philosophy of culture illustrated by the small things I encounter – so I envisage the blog posts being almost like small parables/observations on how to see the world and grow through that seeing and experiencing.

      • Kathryn Hodges says:

        Oooh I like that a lot, Jerry.
        That will be a wonderful gift to the world, and definitely something that doesn’t already exist.
        K x

  9. katandmaya says:

    Hi Kathryn

    Your blog is one of a few I read and know that I will enjoy every post. Thanks for writing and sharing your stories. I admire your approach (being personal and sharing your highs and your lows). I really enjoyed this last one too.

    Thanks again and all the best with your new venture.

    Katrina

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Awww, you’re a darling heart.
      I really do just share the highs and lows of an ordinary life. Just like we all have.
      I really appreciate you reading my words. Truly.
      K xxx

  10. DiDi Riddell says:

    Love your blog post and i feel your vibrant energy…looking forward to what comes next. Hugs Di xx

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Oooh I’m glad you could feel it, Di!
      Can’t wait to see you at the next time the world puts us in the same place at the same time.
      K xxx

  11. Suzie Cheel says:

    Hi Kathryn,
    Jealous, must get there one year I. No you are not alone in the Happiness struggle- working on mine today . thanks for the inspiration, love that BE insanely useful. I used to always share more- now is the time to get real

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Oh, Suzie, based on this year – if you can wrangle your life to get you there. Please do. It was truly amazing!
      Yay! Getting real is where it is at.
      I LOVE real.
      K xxx

  12. Hey Kathryn, you don’t know me but I’ve been stalking the #pbevent from afar (might go next year) and what you said here…

    ‘I’m not “being insanely useful”, or “solving a problem”. Instead, I’m just using my voice, my words, to tell you a story.”‘

    … strikes me as a meaningful contribution. Stories change the world, impart context and meaning, and might embolden somebody somewhere to take their own baby steps forward.

    • Kathryn Hodges says:

      Awww Anaik .. That is so lovely.
      I agree!
      Stories change the world … and so we each need to encourage those around us to their share theirs … and even more importantly, we will add so much to the world, by encouraging ourselves to share our stories.
      Thank you so much for reaching out.
      That means the world.
      K xxx

  13. Ana says:

    I love your blogs, haven’t read a shit one yet xxx

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

