The Memory Mixer

It’s so hard not to begin this post with a self indulgent “I’m sorry I haven’t written in a long time” explanation, but I won’t.

Because, it doesn’t matter.

Right now, I’m telling my LittleMissPerfect to quieten down. She is full of rebuke for letting this space get dusty and cold. That I should have been here, writing regularly, because I know it is good for me. She is simply going to have to deal with the fact that I don’t always do what is good for me. Sometimes, I fall.

Today, I get up, I face the keyboard, and I begin again.

There are all sorts of new energies in our house right now. After 9 years we are finally doing things with the house that were the very reason that we bought it.

Let me set the scene.

Our house is old. Like, built in the 1970s old.

At the time we bought the house, our budget was about “you want to buy a house with that amount- followed by guffaws” big. So, er, not much.

It’s not fancy, flash or modern. Far from it. But it is big. Well, big for what our budget allowed at the time.

We have a 4 bedroom one bathroom house, that before our time, had a double garage added under roof. A double garage that runs the full length of the house.

When we bought this house with our tiny budget, we said “look at all this space – just imagine what we can do with it”.

And, basically, for 9 years what we did with it was:

  • Fill it with hundreds of boxes of work stuff. What a relief it was when we finally got our garage back, and took them somewhere else (anywhere else!)
  • Chucked a spare couch and the Xbox out there. Best to keep the gaming away from me, otherwise I’m likely to hit the off switch at life endangering (for me) intervals.
  • Put the extra fridge / freezer out there. Do you know how much food it takes to feed 6 people EVERY SINGLE DAY?
  • Create the biggest laundry in the history of mankind. Bonus marks for the added benefit of not ever really needing to put away the clothes of 6 people
  • Generally filled it with things and stuff of all kinds.  Don’t know where it belongs …. put it in the garage. 

Anyway, with the mantra of start where you are, use what you have, and do what you can we have FINALLY begun Project Make Use of the Extra Space We Paid For, or Project MUESWPF for short. Catchy, I know!

Basically we are building walls.

687

And by “we”, I mean Dean.

I am not of the “wall building” variety. Or of the building anything variety, really. I’m pretty sure that I got my dexterity and spacial awareness from my Dad*.

I’m sure you know what happens when you begin a project like this. Moving furniture. Moving stuff out. Bringing new things and ideas in. Making new spaces. It changes things, and more than what it is physically changing.

Suddenly there is tidying and clearing up going on here and there all through the house.

We finally bought a light fitting for the lounge.

717

I love it, because it is fabulously ridiculous 🙂

When I got home from work the other day, I stood in the kitchen and it felt lighter and more open. “Dean’s really got stuck into that bench, I can actually see the benchtop” I thought.

Instead of the usual left to right procession of microwave – stand mixer – thermomix – kettle – toaster – juicer – coffeemachine, there was a lot more bench space. He had done the wild thing of putting away what we don’t use regularly.

And then I felt a little gentle poke of the sads. I saw this.

697

We usually have on top of these cupboards our soup pot, our rice cooker, and our big black pot (which is totally awesome, by the way). Sitting quietly up there was a new resident of the top of the cupboard club. The stand mixer.

Mum’s stand mixer.

Mum was always giving me things, particularly kitchen things. She gave me her stand mixer (admittedly because it was part of her plan to get a KitchenAid for herself) and it immediately went on the bench and never got put away. That mixer got a workout in our house.

Until I got the thermomix.

And then Mum died, and suddenly the stand mixer represented more than just an appliance to help whip cream and beat cake mix into light and fluffy submission. It was a reminder of Mum, and her love of the kitchen and baking. And it couldn’t be moved.

Until it was.

And seeing it up there, on top of the cupboards, not on the bench, made me a little sad. It was another reminder that Mum’s not here.

She’s not a physical part of our everyday life. She no longer belongs on the kitchen bench. Instead, she is on top of the cupboard. To be brought down and into the action of life sometimes. But mostly to sit on the shelves. Waiting for when we need her.

And so, I’m back. Writing words.

For no particular reason, other than I love them.

K xxx

*A couple of years ago, this happened when my Dad got up in the ceiling. I think this says all you need to know 🙂

212

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

