2015: The Final Chapter

I can feel we are in the “final chapter” of the year.

And if I forget for a moment, all I need to do is to listen to the radio, hear or read a news report or walk into any shop and I am reminded that the frenzy of Christmas is definitely upon us.

Today, I finally succumbed and took my first step towards Christmas.

048

Yes. I made the grand purchase of some wrapping paper and glitter tape.

I am ridiculously excited at the idea of glitter tape!

But perhaps I had better begin to turn my mind to the gifts that might be wrapped inside the paper that would be secured by the magic of glitter tape 🙂

It would be easy to simply cruise on in towards Christmas, and declare 2015 done.

After all, there are only 5 full weeks of work before Christmas and only 4 weeks until the kids finish school.

And yet, there are 5 full weeks of work before the Christmas break. And 4 weeks before the kids finish school. There is so much more that could be done before this year ends.

We are part way through the renovations of our garage area.

052

Tyben’s room to be has a full installed window, and we are now ready for the first round of electrical work, and then wall sheeting can go up!

For all of this year, I have been working on some big projects for work. Some would have been able to work harder and faster. But it seems I am not of the “harder and faster” mode.

I have to admit, that when I went to the WeArePodcast event last weekend on the Gold Coast, I was so relieved when I heard Robert Gerrish speak.

Robert Gerrish is the founder of Flying Solo. A community of some 70-80,000 solo and micro business owners. That is no small achievement.

My heart skipped a beat when I heard Robert say that there is really no need to rush.

That sometimes it is good to let things take time.

In our instant access world it is easy to be seduced by bigger, faster and louder.

When sometimes what we need most, is a quiet moment, to stay connected with our true selves. To tell our true stories, and to make real connections with other people.

I was blessed to be able to sit in a Mastermind setting with presenters from the event, including Robert Gerrish and Adam Houlahan.

019

Can you tell that I was pretty happy with the suggestions and feedback from these legends?

And so, I take my true self into the final chapter of 2015.

I will not hit cruise and presume that the year is done.

I will actively press on with the projects I have underway, at home and at work. And some of them are big projects. I hope that I can share them with you in 2016!

The final chapter of 2015 deserves loving attention.

What could your final chapter of 2015 contain?

K xxx

About Kathryn Hodges

Hi! I'm Kathryn. I have many hats in this life. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother (of 4!), a friend, a keen try-er of yoga, a lawyer, a business owner, an avid reader and a lover of this electronic world and it's connections. As the Principal of a wonderful law firm on the Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia, I focus on seeing my clients as people going through change and I am committed to practising mindfully that I am dealing with people and their families. Precious stuff, hey! I hope you enjoy learning more about the things that impact on me, my life and my practice. Please leave me a comment, as I'm sure you have something you can show or teach me. We're all in this learning thing, called life, together xx Oh, and my professional obligations mean I have to remind you that my opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2015: The Final Chapter

  1. Suzie Cheel says:

    Thanks for sharing- interesting my final chapter will be completion of projects i have begun, listening to my heart whispers to see what i will discard 🙂 . A great welcome for me into 2016

Shared stories help us all. Anything you want to share with me?

